We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family was content”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Evangeline Downs Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Opelousas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My family visited from London and made reservations at the hotel. They were happy with the room when I asked how was their stay. The beds were comforatable and they found the room clean. They said they will stay there again on the next visit.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank PJRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Evangeline Downs Hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Evangeline Downs Hotel.
We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest. Bring a copy of this email to receive a 5 percent discount or free room upgrade on your next reservation.
We hope that you share your experience with friends and family in hopes that they will endure the taste of southern hospitality Opelousas has to offer.
We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Sincerely

Patrick Arceneaux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 104 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel several times for dog competitions in the area. The front desk staff have always been friendly and accommodating. The rooms are great, roomy and very clean with nice decor. The bathrooms are lovely with a large walk- in type shower and pretty granite countertop at the sink. It is convenient to just walk thru the hotel to the restaurant buffet or bar without having to drive anywhere. There is also a casino there but I have never gone into it.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idabob5426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Evangeline Downs Hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Evangeline Downs Hotel.
We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest. Bring a copy of this email to receive a 5 percent discount or free room upgrade on your next reservation.
We hope that you share your experience with friends and family in hopes that they will endure the taste of southern hospitality Opelousas has to offer.
We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Sincerely

Patrick Arceneaux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

The room was large, clean and comfortable. The bed was fine. The bathroom was clean. No tub, just a walk in shower which was fine. The furnishings in the room were a little tired and old fashioned. The room was very, very quiet.

The breakfast buffet was pretty uninspired and ordinary: cold boiled eggs, bacon, make your own waffles, two kinds of cereal, bread and bagels to toast, apple or orange juice, coffee, instant oatmeal packets. So, lots of carbs not much protein.

I think this is the best place to stay in area and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Evangeline Downs Hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Evangeline Downs Hotel.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest.

We hope that you share your experience with friends and family in hopes that they will endure the taste of southern hospitality Opelousas has to offer.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

This is an Ascend collection hotel part of Choice Brand Hotels in Opelousas, LA. I booked because it was the same price as the Comfort Inn and looked to be more upscale. The hotel is attached to the Evangeline Downs Horse Race Track and Casino.

This was a very nice hotel very similar to a new Comfort Suites but a little more upscale. They upgraded me to a suite which was very nice. The staff was very accomodating and friendly. The room was very comfortable and clean. Everything worked in the room which was nice. It was quite all night and the beds were comfortable.

I ate supper next door in the casino which was good and convenient. The breakfast was included and was about like you get at comfort suites or a Holiday inn express.

Overall nice property and nice people. I will stay here again I am sure. I did not go this time but only about 15 miles to Prejeans Cajun Restaurant which is fantastic. Great food and cajun music.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Techfan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Clean, modern, comfortable. I felt relaxed. No bathtub, but good sized shower. Pool indoors--very small. Views suck, but you can either see the sun rise or the sun set: both awesome in south Louisiana. Friendly staff. Efficient, but locals. Don't expect cosmopolitan service, but they're nice. Breakfast was free.
Decent offerings; it's free so don't expect much, but I appreciated it as an offer and took advantage of it. Newspaper (USA Today) every morning.
For Opelousas, LA it's a solid B.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sethleger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Nothing to complain about here. This is a fairly new addition to the Evangeline Downs
race track and casino. My spouse and I were at the track to watch the KY Derby. We did not have a reservation, but we were able to get a room. We arrived around 10:30am and were told that check-in is at 3:00, which is standard. The room was average-sized, clean, and the bed was comfortable. Our room was on the first floor near the lobby area, and it did tend to get a bit noisy in the hallways. There seemed to be quite a few kids in the hotel. Also, the indoor pool was near our room. It did start to quiet down the later it got, and we had no trouble sleeping. The hotel is connected to the casino and race track. There is a continental breakfast, although we did not eat here. There are also restaurants just down the hall in the casino. Not a bad place to rest after a day at the races, or to take a break from the slot machines.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gulftraveler789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Lovely service and amenities convenient location at the Fair Grounds. Wld rate 5 stars if the hotel was smoke free. There is a smoking section on the 4th floor. Check out the balcony the hot tub & the Deluxe Continental Breakfast

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaidaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opelousas
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Opelousas
Holiday Inn Opelousas
#1 of 8 in Opelousas
74 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Opelousas
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Opelousas
Comfort Inn Opelousas
#7 of 8 in Opelousas
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lafayette/Cajundome
15.3 mi away
Best Western Ville Platte
Best Western Ville Platte
#1 of 1 in Ville Platte
59 reviews
19.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lafayette Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evangeline Downs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evangeline Downs Hotel

Address: 2235 Creswell Ln Ext Ste B, Opelousas, LA 70570-1982
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Opelousas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Opelousas
Price Range: $102 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Evangeline Downs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly built Evangeline Downs Hotel, an Ascend Collection® hotel, is connected to Louisiana's prestigious Evangeline Downs Racetrack & Casino, home of quarter horse racing, gaming, live entertainment, numerous restaurants and more. All spacious and inviting guest rooms are furnished with flat-screen televisions, coffee makers, desks, hair dryers, refrigerators, microwaves, safes, irons, ironing boards, pillow-top mattresses and cable television. Select rooms offer upgraded amenities like wet bars, sofa sleepers and balconies. This is a pet-friendly hotel; fees apply. Ample free parking is provided and can accommodate most vehicles. Additional attractions close to this Ascend Collection hotel in Louisiana include the Creole Heritage Folklife Center museum, Le Vieux Village historic landmark area, Opelousas Museum of Art and the Rural African American Museum. Opelousas is home to a number of annual events like the Original Southwest Louisiana Zydeco Festival, Yambilee Festival and the Holy Ghost Creole Festival. Hotel guest services and amenities: Direct access to Casino from Hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast served daily 6 am to 10 am, Two (2) Elevators giving easy access to all floors, Large indoor swimming pool, Large sitting area for guests, Large 6-8 person whirlpool/hot tub, Large exercise/fitness room with state of the art exercise equipment, Large attractive breakfast room w/ patio seating, Meeting room, seating capacity for 60 people, 40” LCDs in each room, Handicap designed rooms to exceed the ADA requirements, Ample on site parking with handicap parking, Large fireplace in the spacious lobby that has a warm and homey comfortable theme. All queen and king pillow top beds, In-room safes, Coin-operated laundry facilities with folding/work area, Free High Speed/Wireless in each room and throughout hotel, Microwaves and refrigerators in all guest rooms, Dry bar or wet bar in all guest rooms, Coffee makers, full length mirrors, recliners, ergonomic chairs, large work areas, hair dryers, irons and boards in all guest rooms. Business center with computers and printer. After a long day, guests of this Opelousas, LA hotel can unwind in the exercise room, or relax at the indoor heated pool and hot tub. For the corporate traveler, this Louisiana hotel provides an assortment of modern conveniences like an on-site business center, a public computer with Internet access, and access to copy and fax service. A banquet and meeting room is located on the premises and can accommodate up to 50 people for most functions. At the Evangeline Downs Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, you can surround yourself with an array of amenities and personalized service. Make a reservation with us today and let us exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Evangeline Downs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing