We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pigged Out!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seafood Connection

Seafood Connection
Ranked #12 of 108 Restaurants in New Iberia
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pigged Out!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Walking into this location of the Seafood Connection you feel like you're about to dine in somebody's garage. It was recommended by the counter lady at our hotel, she said that some of the higher end places were trading on their reputations, but at this place, they rarely missed on the food. I really liked it -- loved the seafood gumbo, and the fact that the oysters were put in near the end so they wouldn't overcook. The previously reviewer who said it was "horrible" probably knows a lot more about gumbo than I do, but I can't believe he got the same thing. My half oyster poboy was perfect -- good oysters, plus really fresh bread not too thick.

We all loved the staff. Waitress Amanda was really hustling and attentive, the owner shook everybody's hand and thanked us for coming, and the crawfish boil guys outside took us right in and showed us what they were doing. We're Yankees, and don't see crawfish boiling too often.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Broussard, La
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lots of room for improvement”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

I've been to Seafood Connection a few times a year for the last +10 years, but I'll be hard-pressed to return since my last visit. The parking lot smelled of seafood gone bad. (Strike 1) Their gumbo is horrible, and I'm a local. They should know better... (Strike 2) The service was terrible. Maybe we caught her on a bad night... (Strike 3) The only redeeming factor is their fried shrimp and catfish was good, but not the boiled shrimp.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TadTolouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydia,LA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Seafood Connection's Gumbo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Ate the seafood gumbo minus the oysters and waited almost 45 mins. They had to take out the gumbo which was in a ziplock bag & heated it in a rice cooker. The gumbo was good. We also tried the shrimp balls (I think that's the name of those things..LOL) and they were really good!.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tammyabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Shrimp Balls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

I visited Seafood Connection one Saturday night and fell in love with the Shrimp Balls (which is an appetizer on the menu). I enjoyed also the Gumbo and the fried Shrimp was good also. I agree with the other reviews when I say the food is great, but the building is old and needs to be re-done. I had to exit the restaurant to go to the bathroom which is on the outside. That was pretty weird, but I fully enjoyed my food and the service was great.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kimbamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Seafood Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

This is nothing like you'd expect. We got there and the place was packed but we got a seat immediately. Its almost like you are eating in an old warehouse. We had the crawfish and steamed crabs. Beyond expectations! Amazing!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieScruggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafood Connection also viewed

 

Been to Seafood Connection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing