We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best gumbo!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bon Creole Seafood

Bon Creole Seafood
Ranked #1 of 108 Restaurants in New Iberia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
New Iberia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best gumbo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Best gumbo served in a restaurant I have ever tasted! And that high praise coming from some one who won't eat gumbo unless it's home made. Their poboys are the best in town, bar none. Always fresh, hot, and delicious!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    49
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sun City, Arizona
Level Contributor
226 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Ordered the Seafood Combo Basket by mistake...wanted the Seafood Combo PoBoy, but wasn't disappointed. Order came with two fried oysters, two pieces of fish, and mounds and mounds of crawfish and small shrimp. It also came with a small salad, french fries, potato salad and a roll. There was so much food it easily fed both me and my husband. We also had a small seafood gumbo, which was OK but not great. I would definitely come back again next time we are traveling through the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, La
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wow! "Don't Judge a Book By it's Cover"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Had read the reviews prior to our brief visit to New Iberia for a girls basketball playoff game. The pressure was on me since I had the task of finding a place where locals eat for our party of ten. Whew!!!! Everyone in our group was more than impressed with the food they ordered. Oyster and shrimp poboys were outstanding. The seafood was PLENTIFUL, but more it so was cooked to perfection. The poboy bread was really good, flaky, fresh and did not over power the seafood. Condiments within we're also juicy and plentiful. The full size poboy is for the very hungry. The potato salad is the best I've ever tasted. We ordered a bowl of seafood gumbo. It arrived steaming hot and very tasty. Thin, stock rather than thick like typical Louisiana gumbo. More like soup. That did not detract from taste. It was excellent.
As others have stated. This is a no frills place, but the quality AND quantity of food was amazing

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Po Boy Epiphany!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a shrimp po boy sandwich, a chicken and sausage gumbo, and a shrimp and corn gumbo. The po boy was stuffed with shrimp, overflowing, with juicy tomatoes and sauce. Both gumbos were outstanding, although I especially enjoyed the shrimp and corn gumbo. The place was full of happy locals, who obviously enjoy coming there often. Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterzbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broussard, Louisiana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great for a home-style food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Order ahead of time for a quick and delicious meal with large portions to satisfy most people. Located just a few minutes from the historic downtown New Iberia.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank evaporatorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bon Creole Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Bon Creole Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing