We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and well worth the visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rip Van Winkle Gardens

Rip Van Winkle Gardens
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in New Iberia
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful and well worth the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

There was nothing I did not like about this place. The grounds were gorgeous, the tour was done by a lady who definitely knew what she was talking about, the food in the restaurant was delicous and the gift shop was filled with great memoribilla of both the gardens and the surrounding area. Oh and don't miss the hundreds of flamingos, egrets and pelicans that hang around in the trees nor the peacocks.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DeniseSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    49
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rayne, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overnight stay at the Cook's Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

My family and I recently stayed overnight at the Cook's Cottage at Rip Van Winkle gardens in New Iberia, LA. I was impressed by the hospitality and consideration that was given. Our room was stocked with a juice and milk for each individual. It also had a bottle of wine, lots of snacks, and cereal and bagels breakfast. There was a small oven, a microwave, and a small refrigerator. The employees there were friendly and full of smiles. I really enjoyed the peacocks all over the beautiful, breath taking grounds and the opportunity to learn history while I viewed the house. You don't have to check out until 11 am and because they provide the breakfast for you to fix at your convenience you even get to sleep late. I believe for the price this is a steal as a tiny get away trip. I would highly recommend even if you don't sleep over that you go visit the gardens and try the delicious food at their cafe on the grounds. It's so worth it!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Monroe, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We've been here several times and each time we see interesting things we missed before. It's beautifully maintained, peaceful and a step back in history. The home place with the old live oaks is really picturesque. The only disappointment was not being able to tour the upstairs of the Jefferson Home. Otherwise, well worth the time and cost.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens and unique home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Worth the trip. The gardens are beautiful almost any time of year, but especially in the spring and summer. For the Christmas season the house is decorated in the style it would have been in that time period. The house has an interesting history as well as the grounds that were almost destroyed several years ago. The cafe serves good food typical of the area. Its definitely worth the trip.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank linnbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Try To Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Do try to visit Rip Van Winkle Gardens and Tea Room if you are in this part of Louisiana near New Iberia! The entrance (and exit) through the gift shop is quite typical of many attractions, however the Jefferson House on the property is a wonderful example of lovely architecture and fine living of the time period! The knowledgeable lady giving the tour was very informative and most pleasant in her presentation of the lives of the residents on the "Rip Van Winkle" property.
The video which preceded the house tour gave an excellent brief overview of the family, the history of the development of the property and of the disaster which struck the underground salt mine in 1982. We were happy to expand our knowledge of the area and then enjoy an excellent lunch on the veranda of the onsite restaurant after our tour. Although it was extremely busy on the Sunday we visited, the staff made a great effort to accommodate us for lunch. Service was terrific and the food was plentiful and delicious.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Keddy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rip Van Winkle Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Rip Van Winkle Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing