We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Louisiana hospitality!”

Rip Van Winkle Gardens
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in New Iberia
Certificate of Excellence
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Louisiana hospitality!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had a lovely stay in the Servants Quarters located behind Jefferson Mansion. The gardens were lovely, rooms clean and bed very comfortable. Lunch at the restaurant was delicious with beautiful views. We enjoyed strolling through the gardens and communing with the peacocks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    53
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Martinville, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place ever”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Went for dinner Mothers' Day and was impressed with every detail. The kids played in the gardens and ran on the lawn by the lake while we were waiting for a table. They were able to feed some birds and even saw peacocks running around. The cafe service and food was outstanding. We had crab au gratin, smothered eggplant, fried shrimp, and all other kinds of things. Even had a bourbon pecan pie for dessert and it was absolutely perfect. Jamie took great care of us at the door and I think our waitress' name was Crystal...they were perfect.....Even if you just want to come out there and drive around to see the views you wont be disappointed......

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cajunflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot with a beautiful view”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Grab lunch and sit outside overlooking Lake Peigneur. The food is great, the view is fantastic. The café is open seven days a week for lunch, so be sure to include it in your plans. The island is also worth checking out. Watch a video of the 1980 disaster and tour the beautiful home and grounds. I take friends from out of town here often.

A good tip for travelers not familiar with the area; visit between October and May if you can. June - September can be brutally hot and really put a damper on your experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rluke1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Iberia, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Place to Visit over and over again”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a must see if you live in the area or are visiting. The lush landscape and water view is amazing. The restaurant that overlooks the large sweeping oak trees should not be missed. The house tour was amazing. The history and knowledgeable staff who answered all our questions really made the tour worthwhile.

My parents and family went here for Easter. We packed a picnic and enjoyed a lovely day under the trees near the waters edge. I hightly recommend it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lovely gardens, fascinating location”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The gardens are beautiful, especially the flowers and oak trees with spanish moss over near the house. We couldn't stop taking pictures. The amazing story of the lake draining into the salt mine underneath it is fascinating and unique!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank StayWithFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rip Van Winkle Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Rip Van Winkle Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing