We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent HIE in a small town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Iberia-Avery Island
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in New Iberia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Not a lot of options in this small community but being an IHG member, this was my obvious choice. It was close to a highway, so asked for and received a room on the east side of the building. The rooms were comfortable, furnished like most HIE properties. The room was very clean, which always makes me feel comfortable. Bed and bedding in good condition. The breakfast items were standard HIE as well, but can't beat the warm cinnamon rolls. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on east side away from highway are quieter
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATSgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Iberia-Avery Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

We are always pleased to hear that we met our guest expectations! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Iberia-Avery Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 100 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

The room itself wasn't bad. I had a suite, which is large and comfortable. The a/c worked fine. But the worst thing here was the highway noise that came through the wall into the room. My room faced the highway, and it literally sounded like the window was wide open (it wasn't). I sleep like a log and even many times with the TV on--noise doesn't usually bother me at all. So you KNOW this noise was loud, if it woke me up. It's a shame because this is good hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on the side facing AWAY from the highway!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Iberia-Avery Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

We are sorry to hear that you experienced loud noises at night. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about the highway noise, but if you're ever come back to our beautiful town we will gladly put you facing the backside of the hotel! We are happy to hear that everything else went good with your stay and look forward to having you as a guest again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I was very impressed with this hotel. The rooms have a ton of space and are nicely decorated, with a plush chair in the corner and granite countertops in the bathroom. Our room was spotlessly clean, something I don't find often. The bed was very comfortable, and the pillows were too, even though other Holiday Inns have pillows that I think are too small. The high ceilings in the room made the room feel very stately, and the front desk personnel was extremely friendly. The lobby was also very welcoming. I travel frequently and was highly impressed with this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephiebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Iberia-Avery Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. We take pride in treating each guest like they're home. We enjoyed having you and hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at many hotels around the Lafayette & New Iberia area. This was one of the best, I liked it better than the Hilton. Great service and a really clean room. The morning breakfast is normal for this type of hotel. The internet is fast and does not drop out like some hotels.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Iberia-Avery Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to give us such a good review! We look forward to seeing you next time you're in our area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I get nervous when I see a rating of #1 or #2 hotel, in a small town. But truly, this Holiday Inn deserves its top rating! First of all we discovered that the Tabasco factory in Avery Island was an easy day trip from New Orleans that we did not need to book a hotel here. However, we pre-paid, so there we were. But glad we stayed. This looked like a newly built Holiday Inn, complete with straight from the catalog furniture. But someone in this hotel clearly cares. It was Christmas, and it was nicely, not-generically decorated. There is a giant bowl of fruit in the lobby. I am not sure how i feel about the new-fangled tv-dinner and junk-food stocked fridges in the lobby, for late night munchies, but i saw the need here, when it was in the middle of nowhere. The tricky thing is finding the side road into the hotel from the highway. Call the hotel for more specific directions. It took us a few tries and a few u-turns to do it. Breakfast is the usual make your own waffle buffet, Hearty carbs, good coffee, to go bags. If only all Holiday Inns were like this one. Hey IHG group, make this your model small-town hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwinMamaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Iberia-Avery Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Wow! Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. Our staff does an amazing job at keeping our property so beautiful because they do care! Hopefully we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

My DH and I are originally from this area and chose this hotel for our 4 night stay. This was our first stay at this Holiday Inn, but I previously used there Banquet room to host a baby shower for a family member about 4 years ago and as I recall everyone was professional, courteous, and very helpful with our function.

The hotel is in an easily accessible location, just off of Hwy. 90, clean, not too big and not too small. The room (103 I believe) was spacious, clean, and quiet towards the end of the corridor. I loved the touch of color they used as an accent wall in the room. I believe that the pop of color is refreshing and doesn't give the feel of "blah" that the hotel rooms usually have. House keeping kept the room tidy during our busy days. The bed was comfortable as were the pillows. Much thanks to the receptionist (my memory fails me) who helped us out with extra pillows at 11:30 at night. The bathroom was spacious with Bath and Body Works amenities.

The breakfast was a nice touch. Nothing too fancy but just enough to give us a boost in the mornings. The hot items changed from day to day; Cheese omelets, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, toast, bagels, cereal, yogurt...a nice variety.

Overall this hotel was great. Warm welcoming reception area, clean, comfortable, excellent stay!
Would I stay again? YES!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank CreolePeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Iberia-Avery Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you so much for all your kind comments about our hotel! We love being able to make our guests feel comfortable and it seems we hit a home run with your stay! We look forward to having you next time you're in New Iberia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Me family and I were visiting some family for Thanksgiving, and we were staying at a nearby hotel that my family was fighting ants all night long, I was so upset so that hotel made arrangements for us to be moved to The Holiday Inn Express for the remainder of our trip, and I mean from the moment we walked in the door the staff apologized for what happened at the other hotel and would make it their business to make sure that the rest of our visit would be a pleasure and that's just what they did, I am grateful for the service and staff,......... Thank You Sincerely a appreciative customer.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Taushi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Iberia-Avery Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

We are pleased that we were able to help you enjoy the rest of your vacation while you were visiting our beautiful town! We really look forward to seeing you during your next trip to visit your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Iberia
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Iberia
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Iberia
Candlewood Suites New Iberia
#6 of 12 in New Iberia
81 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Iberia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada New Iberia
Ramada New Iberia
#4 of 12 in New Iberia
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 12 in New Iberia
53 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Broussard-Lafayette Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Iberia-Avery Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Iberia-Avery Island

Address: 318 West Highway 90 Frontage Road, New Iberia, LA 70560
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Iberia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in New Iberia
Price Range: $97 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Iberia-Avery Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Cajun welcome from the newest addition to the Heart of Acadiana, is the Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Iberia-Avery Island!We are conveniently located at Hwy 90 at LA 14, just a short drive to downtown New Iberia, Lafayette and the Port of Iberia. This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free wired and Wi-Fi high-speed Internet access, microwave and refrigerator, 32 inch flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our outdoor swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Iberia-Avery Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites New Iberia-Avery Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing