We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Iberia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottages at the Rip Van Winkle Gardens
Ranked #1 of 5 New Iberia B&B and Inns
globeseeker007
Level Contributor
1,098 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,141 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a weekday. The price was $105 and that included a tour of the Jefferson House the next morning. This cottage contained a large bathroom and another room that had a partition which separated the bedroom from the living room. The bedroom had a huge bed and the living room contained a sofa, easy chair, and a couple of other chairs as well as a TV. Between this and the bathroom was the refrigerator, microwave, and small toaster oven. The place was stocked with snacks such as cheese, crackers, cereal, water, milk, orange juice, bagles, coffeee, and pastries. A bottle of wine was even furnished. If you're looking for a place to stay in New Ibera, give the Rip Van Winkle Gardens a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank globeseeker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
30
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
bfleb433
Level Contributor
157 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Cooks Cottage but the other 2 units are nice when I saw them.

Excellent service and the grounds are both very nice and historic.

It is isolated from other places, but that is precisely the inherent charm. No casinos, crowds or anything except a quiet comforting atmosphere away from the hustle and bustle of the world.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bfleb433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
98 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This place was fabulous! The bed was comfy. The shower was good. Nice sized bathroom. Beautiful gardens surrounding the place! And the snacks and drinks in the room were a nice touch! We'll definitely be going back! Great for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hniki234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We arrived at Rip Van Winkle Gardens planning to have lunch & tour the gardens. We learned in the gift shop that the facility has 3 B&B rooms, including the Cook's Cottage. This place has 3 rooms & it's a do-it-yourself B&B. Open your own bottle of wine & make your own breakfast which suited us just fine. The Gardens close at 5pm, after that you have only the other guests & caretaker as human company. The peacocks provided security! The Gardens are fantastic, lots of relaxing places to sit & read - the boathouse on Lake Peigneur, the pagoda, benches overlooking the lily pond, front porch of the cottage in a rocking chair... Staying in the B&B includes 2 tickets to the gardens & 2 tickets to the house tour, we enjoyed the house tour the morning before we checked out. Don't forget to watch the 10 minute movie about the drilling accident on Lake Peigneur in 1980. I can't wait to go back to this lovely place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thursdayschile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

The cottage is a great size with all of the amenities and decorated very tastefully. Anyone would be comfortable there. Each night we were left a bottle of wine with cheese and all sorts of snacks. The fridge was stocked with a variety of breakfast options. The grounds are beautiful. The peacocks are so beautiful and friendly you can excuse their "yelps". We extended our trip an extra day because we did not want to leave this paradise of a place. Everyone was friendly and helpful. This is a very well ran place. The only down side is there was almost no wi-fi which could be easy for them to fix. Everything else was perfect.

We had lunch at the restaurant and the food was the best we had during our 4 days in the area. Only problem was the portions were so huge we did not have room for desert. We even split a salad and a sandwich and still had leftovers. If you cannot get a room there at the very least go for lunch and spend time touring the grounds.

The tour of the Mansion was wonderful. It was disappointing that we were not allowed to go up to the second and third floors. The stairs are very steep and are a liability exposure so it is understandable, but disappointing none the less. The tour guide is very knowledgeable and we really enjoyed her presentation. You could tell she very much cared for this beautiful home.

I cannot wait until next year to go back and spend more time exploring the New Iberia area. There is so much to see and do that three nights were not enough and RVW gardens are a great place to wake up.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cooks Cottage. This is a standalone structure and was very private. This would be per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MGrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Beautiful location, beautiful gardens. Tame peacocks, gamecocks and a HUGE turkey that could feed your whole family and everyone in your subdivision. Great value. Perfect spot for romance but I wouldn't bring your spouse unless you're in love. Ageless oaks everywhere, interrupted with occasional oil and gas wells. This is Cajun country cher so you might have a little difficulty with the dialect but not with the people. We're early risers so the roosters didn't bother us. Don't expect to sleep late.One bottle of wine supplied. Bring more.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jefe504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
563 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

We just went there for lunch and a tour of Jefferson House.

I have to say that our lunch was one of our favorite meals of our entire trip to New Iberia, Houma and Nawlins. I had seafood heaven, a mixture of shrimp, crawfish and blue crab over pasta with a lovely cream sauce. I also had a ceasar salad and just about the best rolls I've ever had.

My husband had a muffaletta and he loved his as well. It had the traditional meats and olive salad but was served on a panini. The small was ample for him and he's a big eater.

We ate on a porch overlooking the lake. It's a great view. Others ate outside on tables under spreading oak trees.

All in all, an exceptional meal.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SalfromIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Iberia
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Iberia
7.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Iberia
Candlewood Suites New Iberia
#4 of 12 in New Iberia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Iberia-Avery Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Iberia
7.1 mi away
Ramada New Iberia
Ramada New Iberia
#5 of 12 in New Iberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
8.8 mi away
Louisiana Cajun Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages at the Rip Van Winkle Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages at the Rip Van Winkle Gardens

Property: Cottages at the Rip Van Winkle Gardens
Address: 5505 Rip Van Winkle Road, New Iberia, LA 70560
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Iberia
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in New Iberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing