We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cottages at the Rip Van Winkle Gardens
Nearby Hotels
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Suites(New Iberia)
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 New Iberia(New Iberia)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
40
14
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
14
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbottle of winecooks cottageopen for lunchgift shopjefferson housefront porchout of the waythe main housebagelsgardens are beautifulminute driveone nightrocking chairswatch the sunsetleaf blowerfull bloompeacocks roam
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 55 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We arrived at Rip Van Winkle Gardens planning to have lunch & tour the gardens. We learned in the gift shop that the facility has 3 B&B rooms, including the Cook's Cottage. This place has 3 rooms & it's a do-it-yourself B&B. Open your own bottle of wine & make your own breakfast which suited us just fine. The Gardens close at 5pm, after that you have only the other guests & caretaker as human company. The peacocks provided security! The Gardens are fantastic, lots of relaxing places to sit & read - the boathouse on Lake Peigneur, the pagoda, benches overlooking the lily pond, front porch of the cottage in a rocking chair... Staying in the B&B includes 2 tickets to the gardens & 2 tickets to the house tour, we enjoyed the house tour the morning before we checked out. Don't forget to watch the 10 minute movie about the drilling accident on Lake Peigneur in 1980. I can't wait to go back to this lovely place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank thursdayschile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

The cottage is a great size with all of the amenities and decorated very tastefully. Anyone would be comfortable there. Each night we were left a bottle of wine with cheese and all sorts of snacks. The fridge was stocked with a variety of breakfast options. The grounds are beautiful. The peacocks are so beautiful and friendly you can excuse their "yelps". We extended our trip an extra day because we did not want to leave this paradise of a place. Everyone was friendly and helpful. This is a very well ran place. The only down side is there was almost no wi-fi which could be easy for them to fix. Everything else was perfect.

We had lunch at the restaurant and the food was the best we had during our 4 days in the area. Only problem was the portions were so huge we did not have room for desert. We even split a salad and a sandwich and still had leftovers. If you cannot get a room there at the very least go for lunch and spend time touring the grounds.

The tour of the Mansion was wonderful. It was disappointing that we were not allowed to go up to the second and third floors. The stairs are very steep and are a liability exposure so it is understandable, but disappointing none the less. The tour guide is very knowledgeable and we really enjoyed her presentation. You could tell she very much cared for this beautiful home.

I cannot wait until next year to go back and spend more time exploring the New Iberia area. There is so much to see and do that three nights were not enough and RVW gardens are a great place to wake up.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cooks Cottage. This is a standalone structure and was very private. This would be perfect for a honeymoon or romantic weekend, but it worked out for a "Girls Trip" just fine.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MGrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Beautiful location, beautiful gardens. Tame peacocks, gamecocks and a HUGE turkey that could feed your whole family and everyone in your subdivision. Great value. Perfect spot for romance but I wouldn't bring your spouse unless you're in love. Ageless oaks everywhere, interrupted with occasional oil and gas wells. This is Cajun country cher so you might have a little difficulty with the dialect but not with the people. We're early risers so the roosters didn't bother us. Don't expect to sleep late.One bottle of wine supplied. Bring more.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jefe504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

We just went there for lunch and a tour of Jefferson House.

I have to say that our lunch was one of our favorite meals of our entire trip to New Iberia, Houma and Nawlins. I had seafood heaven, a mixture of shrimp, crawfish and blue crab over pasta with a lovely cream sauce. I also had a ceasar salad and just about the best rolls I've ever had.

My husband had a muffaletta and he loved his as well. It had the traditional meats and olive salad but was served on a panini. The small was ample for him and he's a big eater.

We ate on a porch overlooking the lake. It's a great view. Others ate outside on tables under spreading oak trees.

All in all, an exceptional meal.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SalfromIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

This would rate 5 stars except for poor wifi, limited channel choice and low water pressure. If you can get over these 3 things this is a fabulous deal, the cottage is very quaint. The bed is one of the comfiest I've ever slept in.
The grounds are spectacular, with very friendly peacocks and turkeys mingling about. We stayed 5 nights and you get a bottle of wine every night along with cheese and lots of goodies for breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank downey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews