We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience”

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchitoches
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchitoches
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Natchitoches
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Stayed at this hotel because of the ratings. Elevator would overheat and cease working; ice machine was very nasty and the ice had trash in it; walls are paper thin; roudy guests and a woman screaming most of the night (not sure out of pain or pleasure). Won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustSis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 104 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2010

I chose this hotel because of the Holiday Inn reputation. I was willing to pay over $130 for one night mainly because this hotel and interior room entry, as opposed to nearby "motel-style" outdoor-entry establishments. At 10:30 pm, I noticed there was no hot water out of the faucet. At 11:00 pm when my daughter said the shower water wouldn't warm up, the response from the front desk was "let the water run out of the faucets for 15 or 20 minutes." I was shocked not only that the hotel wasn't surprised by the issue, but offered this as a "solution". At 7:30 the next morning, there was no change in the water temperature, so I opted for a quick "sponge bath" rather than waste gallons of water down the drain. I faced the manager in person and explained my understandable dissatisfaction with the water temperature as well as my disgust at the hotel's willingness to support this wastefulness. To add insult to injury, there is a brochure placed in the room which encourages patrons to save water by taking short showers, reusing towels, etc. I left my name and number for the owner, who has yet to contact me. Suffices to say that I will never stay at this hotel again, more disgruntled by the amount of water being wasted than the lack of hot water.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malkadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We made reservations the night before our trip and didn't get to the hotel until after 2 PM. The lobby was nice smelling and pleasant, we checked in and went to our room only to find it hadn't been cleaned yet. The shower was a tickle and the internet went in and out. Breakfast was disappointing. We asked for a high chair and were told there was only one and it was being occupied. One highchair for the entire hotel??!! There was no fresh fruit, and the coffee had an odd taste. I ended up throwing mine out. I would stay here again though if I had too but I would eat breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinMomma09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Had a great stay at this Holiday Inn Express. Clean, Comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was ok. Coffee was really good though.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

My husband & I traveled to Louisiana to view the grave marker on my Dad's grave for Father's Day. It was a very hard trip but the staff at this Holiday Inn made it easier.
The hotel was clean and the rooms were nicely appointed. My husband and great nephew swam in the salt water pool and had a great time. The staff at the front desk made sure that they had towels and bottled water.
We rode our motorcycle there and the staff made sure we had a secure place to park it under the portico.
I have no doubt that we will be going back to Louisiana and I think we will probably be staying in the hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpcandmdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

I've stayed in dozens of different Holiday Inn Express and this one was fine. We were driving from Dallas to Orlando for the first time and wanted a stop that would get us on the road and this was good location at just over 250 miles. It was conveniente just off highway 49, staff was friendly and rooms clean and good size. In morning I did a workout in excercise room and enjoyed breakfast. Excercise room was fine, if you use treadmill on left it was a little noisy at low speed but fine once running. We had some extra time and took a drive into town (the movie Steel Magnolias was filmed there). Town has charm with quaint stores and shops facing scenic river. River side is nice, hill drops down to an open park and there were row crews racing and craft type show. We walked up and down the street and were glad we made the side trip. For those continuing east, we did hit a long traffic jam that started about ten miles prior to bridge at Baton Rouge just after we got off long bridge. We were expecting to see a big accident but never saw. This was fist time we drove this route so maybe just result of heavy spring break traffic but maybe would have been better to visit town in evening and get earlier start to beat traffic. The drive down 49 all the way through 10 was very green and scenic.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripplan555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Holiday Inn Express was one of the more expensive hotels listed so I expected it to be above and beyond the others. It was average at best.

There were stains on the ceiling and walls. There were no bulbs in a couple of the lamps. I expected better for the price.

I would recommend a much cheaper selection next door. There must have been 5 hotels side by side all built about the same time.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GzrGldGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchitoches hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
#1 of 15 in Natchitoches
411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Natchitoches Inn
Best Western Natchitoches Inn
#2 of 15 in Natchitoches
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
#3 of 15 in Natchitoches
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Chateau Saint Denis
Chateau Saint Denis
#5 of 15 in Natchitoches
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Natchitoches
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#9 of 15 in Natchitoches
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchitoches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchitoches

Address: 5137 University Pkwy, Natchitoches, LA 71457-7169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Natchitoches
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Natchitoches
Price Range: $105 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchitoches 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to this Convenient Natchitoches, Louisiana Hotel Cajun flare, courteous service and quality are three attributes you will find at our Natchitoches hotel. Centrally located between Alexandra and Shreveport, and approximately one hour from the Alexandria International and Shreveport Regional Airports, our hotel is perfect for travelers to all three cities. If you're looking for lodging in Natchitoches, LA, you will enjoy staying in our hotel while you experience the city's southern charm and unique offerings. Spend the day touring Magnolia, Oakland or Melrose plantations and learning about the city's history, or check out the Bayou Pierre Alligator Park with hundreds of gators, as well as Cajun music, food and fun. If you're a sports enthusiast, you are sure to love a visit to the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame, located five minutes away from our hotel in Natchitoches. If business brings you to town, you won't be disappointed by the amenities provided by our Natchitoches hotel. We offer free high-speed Internet access, two meeting rooms and a 24-hour Business Center with print, copy and fax services. Additionally, our hotel is near Northwestern State University, Weyerhaeuser, Alliance Compressor and the downtown district. After a day of work or play, consider relaxing in the outdoor pool or Fitness Center. You can eat well every morning at the free hot breakfast bar. Check out our great Natchitoches hotel deals and book your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchitoches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Natchitoches
Holiday Inn Natchitoches
Natchitoches Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Natchitoches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing