We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be treated like royalty!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchitoches
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 23 Natchitoches B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a special occasion so I ordered the cake and balloons to be waiting for him. He spoils me all the time so it's nice to return the treat. It has a beautiful and spacious back porch with a swing. There arestairs leading down to the dock right on the river. The dock is so large that it has lawn furniture on it with a fan, which you so need in Louisiana. We met up with others that were staying there and talked for a long while. Delightful! The breakfast was for lack of words AMAZING! Simply AMAZING! Planning a get away for his 60th birthday. Don't miss out of on this treat!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marybeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 165 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

I never leave reviews but I feel that not leaving one for this place would just be wrong. Charles the property manager is suberb, he's a kind a warm hearted person and you truly feel welcome when you enter. The view is phenomenal I stayed in the John Reavles room which has a nice view of the river through the white French doors that lead out onto the patio. It's one of the cheapest rooms but I felt it was the nicest, I'm a sucker for scenery and well I wouldnt have stayed in any other room. Breakfast ... What to say about breakfast, i dont think anything i could write here could do it justice. Its just delicious and it reminds me of going to my grandparents house. Overall I would recommend this b&b to anyone and with the price and view it's a tough one to beat :)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mongojoe02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Wow, talk about a nice place. We arrived in the afternoon and went immediately to the deck by the water. Fully 15 degrees cooler. Within walking distance of downtown. Shops close at 4 or 5 during the week. Jacuzzi in the bathroom made the exercise much more comfortable. The house is very lovely with complimentary soft drinks, hot chocolate, tea and coffee. Lovely porch out back with ceiling fans to keep the breeze moving. Breakfast the next morning was over the top. Charles was the nicest "Professionally trained" server/cook we have had. The eggs benedict and cheese grits made us feel satisfied. Just wonderful!

Room Tip: We stayed in the John Revery room. Ground floor with french door to patio.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rgentrydal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Every visitor to Louisiana should visit Natchiotches and every visitor to Natchiotches would have an even more memorable visit if they stayed at Violet Hill.
It is simply gorgeous in every way. The location, the view across the Cane Lake, the house, the rooms, the furnishings, the people and the food!
Thankyou so much to John, Charles and Tamika for a wonderful experience. Charles, you make everyone feel special and cook the best B & B breakfasts on the planet.
Walking around the town during day or night is so delightful, the architecture and care given to the town is so nice. As are the people of Nack-a-tish......and especially the ones you'll meet at Violet Hill. Don't hesitate.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMMc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

When in central Louisiana, you need to pull-in to historic Natchitoches, and check-in to the Violet Hill. The folks that own this place have a high degree of owner pride, and the place is fantastic. Views of the Cane River, and walking distance to lots of great places. Breakfast was off the hook, and the staff was awesome. Special shout-out to John, Todd, Charles and Miss Tamika - we had a great time! I travel to LA a lot - mostly this area and New Orleans. Natchitoches is the oldest settlement in the Louisiana Purchase, and has a lot more charm and character than NOLA.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the house, facing the Cane River are quieter (off the street side).
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngusPodgorny1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stopped in Natchitoches on our way to New Orleans not realizing we should have stayed right there for our vacation! Last minute at the visitor center got great information on what to see and found the Violet Hill B&B - they even called and got us reservations last minute! Charles the Inn Keeper was so great and took excellent care of us! The house and rooms are BEAUTIFUL and the grounds...perfect. This is one of the only B&B's right on the lake (yes lake - Cane River Lake (not river). They have a beautiful back porch complete with wicker furniture and swing. The dock is covered with ceiling fans and is huge! The Inn was almost full once we arrived but you wouldn't have known it - it was so quiet. The rooms are luxurious - beds wonderful - bathrooms huge. Charles is so knowledgable about the area we learned history as well as best places to eat. You CANNOT miss The Landing fried green tomatoes and meat pies. We will drive 5 hours again just for the opportunity to stay at Violet Hill and eat meat pies and fried green tomatoes at The Landing. Almost forgot the AMAZING breakfast at the Inn - I'm a meat and eggs person and didn't miss out at all! Breakfast was delectable hazel nut french toast with sausage and fruit parfait - we couldn't have been happier! Please stop here if you have the opportunity and say Hi to Charles - he is an exceptional host!

Room Tip: Go to the visitor center - they are so helpful and have personal relationships with the inn keepers...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ftworth456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Voilet Hill was exactly what we were looking for during a romantic weekend getaway. A beautiful decorated and charming home on the river. The location is great, close to walk around town. The room was comfortable was the jacuzzi tub was a great treat. John was amazing and we couldn't have asked for a better host. He gladly answered any questions and made some great recommendations on places to visit and things to see. The back deck area that overlooks the river was a perfect place to escape to see the sunset. The breakfasts were phenomenal and we could never finish the whole meal. I can't wait to go back and visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allisonpaige0525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchitoches hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau Saint Denis
Chateau Saint Denis
#5 of 15 in Natchitoches
68 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
#1 of 15 in Natchitoches
391 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Natchitoches Inn
Best Western Natchitoches Inn
#3 of 15 in Natchitoches
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Natchitoches
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
#2 of 15 in Natchitoches
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Church Street Inn
Church Street Inn
#6 of 23 in Natchitoches
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 917 Washington St, Natchitoches, LA 71457-4729
Location: United States > Louisiana > Natchitoches
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Natchitoches
Price Range: $145 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy peaceful surroundings on the banks of Cane River Lake in the historic district of beautiful downtown Natchitoches, Louisiana. Painstakingly and lovingly renovated, Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast provides an elegant and relaxing atmosphere, inside and out. Whether it's in the luxurious living area, in one of the porch swings on the veranda, or on the gazebo dock downhill on the riverfront, you're sure to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing