We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Christmas Trip 2013”

Kaffie-Frederick General Mercantile Store
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: I have many Great Interior Pictures of this Actual General Store that Dates Back to 1863. Located on Scenic Cobble Stone Street with Red River Just across the Road. So many great pictures that is operational and filled with Old and New Merchandise. Old Cash Register over 147 years old. Listed with a National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of Interior. A Place all of America "Must See'"
Jasper, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Christmas Trip 2013”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Always take time to shop there...unique Christmas gifts..Old time toys..marbles lots of cast iron and cooking utensils. Worth the time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 030857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    73
    21
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A blast from the past”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

A great store to browse in and re-live the past in all the products they have to sell. It is a cross between an old hardware and five and dime store. It is a must to see on your trip to the historic district.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dpm4660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Louisiana
Level Contributor
202 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“If you can't find it here, you don't need it”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

It is a throw back to stores of the past. A very old hardware store that has a lot of the things from the past. Old cash register, old phone. But the merchandise they have is great. Like I said in my title, they have everything here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank daylilyrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite store on Front Street”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I love this store and have to stop by everytime I come to Natchitoches. They have a little bit of everything. Very friendly workers and just a great old store. I hope it is still going strong for another 150 years.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jrickert214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretto, Tennessee
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“COOL OLD STORE!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

While visiting the historic district, found this place, said to be the oldest general store in LA. It is a combination working hardware store and historical venue, having a lot of old equipment from the original store. Also had a neat old toy section, with a lot of vintage-style items that I remember from my childhood in the 60's. Definitely worth a stop and look-around. Will definitely go back, but allow about an hour or so to look at all the neat items.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaffie-Frederick General Mercantile Store also viewed

 

Been to Kaffie-Frederick General Mercantile Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing