We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at the Sweet Cane Inn”
Review of Sweet Cane Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sweet Cane Inn
Ranked #8 of 23 Natchitoches B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Atkinson, Iowa
1 review
“Our stay at the Sweet Cane Inn”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Fantastic! Beautiful! Awesome owners!! Close to historic downtown! We had appetizers and drinks at Maglieux on the Cane and it was great! We did not have a place to stay for the night...the employees told us the the owners had a B and B a few blocks away....loved it!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BloomsburyFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
27
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a relaxing time with good food, great company, and awesome location Sweet Cane Inn is the place! Owners John and Kathy are southern hospitality at its best. They go above and beyond to ensure your stay is everything you could imagine and more. Located within waking distance to historic sites dining and shopping you couldn't ask for a better place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nona71457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Loved the Sweet Cane Inn! We were there for the Christmas Light Festival and could not have picked a better place to stay. The Owners, John & Kathy Richmond are masters at the bed & breakfast ideal. The house is warm and cozy. Spotless and so comfortable. There are main areas that guests are welcome to relax in as well. The rooms are tastefully decorated and do not look like your grandma's bedroom as in some b&bs (sorry Grandma). Beds & linens are plush and soft. Bathrooms are modern and clean. Parking on site. Convenient walk to everything in the town and an easy drive to the outer plantation site. Breakfast is a hot, freshly cooked meal served buffet style and there is a "happy hour" in the afternoon with wine & pastries. The day we left, we had to leave prior to breakfast being ready and the owner made us a wonderful hot meal prior to departure. The perfect host.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. We arrived on December 31, 2013. We came to watch the New Years Eve fireworks. We were not disappointed.
John and Kathy provide wine and snacks every afternoon. This makes it so the guests can meet and get to know one another. Much better than briefly saying hello.
We recommend this B&B and will come back again.
The only thing that was not perfect is the pillows. So bring your own.

Room Tip: We were in the Magnolia room. If it had been warmer we could have enjoyed the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebcat1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We recently spent two nights in Natchitoches experiencing the Festival of Lights and we had a lovely stay. John and Kathy who own the inn were very lovely relaxed people who made us feel so welcome, and location wise it was great to be able to walk into town rather than drive. There were freshly baked cookies put out everyday and wine available in the evenings. We were on the third floor in a lovely room with an enormous bathroom but if you are slightly older you might not want to do the stairs from the second to third floor. Definitely a wonderful place to stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KobbyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My significant other and I just spent two nights at the Sweet Cane Inn to see the Festival of Lights and explore the historic district.

We stayed in the Lily room on the third floor which is a unique L-shaped room on the side of the house. Since it's set off to the side, you don't get any street noise from Washington, but can still look out on it directly from the bathroom window. There are also three windows to give you lots of light on the side of the house. The room was clean and the linens smelled fresh and were soft and comfortable. The bed was a little soft for me and my 6'6 SO didn't quite fit on the bed but those are not really complaints, just observations. I enjoyed the shower, there's no tub but that's perfect for me, and the Gilchrist and Soames toiletries. I appreciated the stocked fridge (water and soda) but it is right next to the bed and can make a jarring noise when the refrigeration kicks on and off. I would also suggest a few hangers in the close. Since we brought our own we were okay.

The house itself is very large with a nice sitting room on the third floor and two large rooms on the first floor. There's a wide front porch too. Breakfast is served in a nice little dining room with tea, coffee, juices, yogurt and cereal everyday. In addition to the continental offerings eggs, bacon, sausage, strawberry crepes, pancakes and mini quiches may also be offered. You can have breakfast at any time between 8-10am so you don't have to get up and rush down to eat. At 4pm wine and delicious chocolate chip cookies are offered. Snag one for a late after dinner snack!

John and Kathy were great hosts. John had a lot of great stories about the area. We also ate at his restaurant and if you are a guest at the Inn you get a free appetizer or dessert. Try the cornbread étouffée it's delicious. I also have to confess that upon check-out I forgot to return the room key and found it later in my luggage. When we called the B&B, John was so kind about the issue letting us know it happens and told us just to send it back through the mail. This level of hospitality extended beyond our stay and I'm very appreciative.

The location is absolutely perfect for walking to the historic district and was very convenient for seeing the fireworks on Saturday night. You can park right at the B&B and walk down to the shops and restaurants. I highly recommend the Sweet Cane Inn as it's casual hosts and quiet rooms, plus ideal location make it perfect for a visit to Natchitoches.

Room Tip: The Lily room is on the side of the house and on the third floor so it's very quiet as long as y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful time in Natchitoches staying at the elegant Sweet Cane Inn. It was our second time at the inn and it was perfect. Great rooms, we recommend the Magnolia Suite. The breakfast was delicious! John and Kathy are so friendly and accommodating. It was the best place to stay for City of Lights because Front street is only a block away. We're already anticipating our next visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchitoches hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau Saint Denis
Chateau Saint Denis
#5 of 15 in Natchitoches
58 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Natchitoches
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
#1 of 15 in Natchitoches
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Best Western Natchitoches Inn
Best Western Natchitoches Inn
#4 of 15 in Natchitoches
163 reviews
4.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
#2 of 15 in Natchitoches
125 reviews
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 15 in Natchitoches
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Cane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Cane Inn

Property: Sweet Cane Inn
Address: 926 Washington St, Natchitoches, LA 71457-4730
Location: United States > Louisiana > Natchitoches
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Natchitoches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sweet Cane Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant, century old Victorian home, Sweet Cane Inn welcomes you to relax and enjoy the comfort and hospitality that will certainly set the standard for your visit to historic Natchitoches for years to come.Sweet Cane Inn was built for Congressman Phanor Breazeale in the late 1800's. Among its many unique features, Sweet Cane Inn's stately presence boasts of 12 foot ceilings, 11 fireplaces, and a wall of stained glass windows at the top of the stairs which curve and lead to seven beautifully spacious rooms and suites. Conveniently located in the heart of Natchitoches' Landmark Historic District, Sweet Cane Inn is within walking distance of beautiful Front Street, a brick thoroughfare where wrought iron balconies, restaurants, shops and attractions face beautiful Cane River Lake. Guests enjoy nearby fort sites, museums, and year around cultural events and festivals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Sweet Cane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing