We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Find!”

Mama's Oyster House
Ranked #6 of 63 Restaurants in Natchitoches
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Find!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Food was good and priced well below other restaurants in the area. Staff were all very polite and attentive. Loved walking up and down the street where its located - lots of great shops.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank clumbermom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    78
    47
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Homewood, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food was good - a little pricey”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We decided to try this place as it was recommended. The food was fresh and delicious but I think $8.95 for 6 little shrimp with nothing else was a little too expensive.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

At our table, we had an oyster po-boy, blackened catfish with crawfish etoufee, fried catfish with crawfish etoufee, and crawfish fettucine. All of these dishes were very good. Nice portion sizes, we even took a little back to the hotel on some of the dishes. I had not had an oyster po-boy in a while and it was exactly as good as I expected. We had been here once before and returned because we had enjoyed our last visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cajunscraplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effie, Louisiana
Level Contributor
86 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It was just ok”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Had the crab cakes, which were very tasty. But when I bit into my wrap, spinach & grilled fish, it had a very unusual whang to it. Not bad fishy just unusual. I didn't like the veggies that were served with it. I usually can tolerate the worst cooked vegetables, not these. The gumbo cup was good.

Helpful?
Thank LeeH113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was the worst food we ate during our 3 weeks in the US. The alligator bites were so salty they were almost inedible. My wife's crab cakes were dry and salty and she did not get past the first mouthful. Service was fine - food terrible!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing