We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Weekend!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchitoches
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Andrew Morris House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 23 Natchitoches B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas,Tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Weekend!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have been wanting to stay at a Bed & Breakfast for a long time. I decided to surprise my husband for our anniversary and book one online that looked good, but not knowing what we would find. Well, I guess it was my lucky day...Andrew Morris was perfect for us! It was beautifully decorated, the beds were so comfortable, the breakfast was like a 5-star hotel, and all the details were handled. I felt so pampered! The other guests were so delightful to visit with at breakfast, too. John really went out of his way to make sure we were happy and loving every aspect of our stay. We were there two nights; the first night we stayed in the Decourneau suite downstairs and then switched to the Ragan suite(upstairs) for the second night. Checking in and out were so convenient. There were complimentary sodas, ice and water, and in each room was a beautiful portfolio sharing places to eat, things to do, and the history of the place(Natchitoches, Louisiana). The shopping in the downtown historic district, the food(we really liked The Landing), touring Melrose Plantation, visiting the Alligator Zoo, seeing where Steel Magnolias was filmed, and just walking along the riverbank was heaven. The trees and flower gardens are beautiful and many restaurants provide outside dining on patios. I highly recommend this destination as a low key, high enjoyment, long weekend experience!

Room Tip: Actually room service was not available but I couldn't remove it. However, when we changed rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelightedinDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
77
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minden, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Plenty of parking, quiet and comfortable. We stayed in the
Decourneau suite for the private entrance. We are smokers. Worked great. The back patio at our door had ash trays and was quiet with a fountain. Room nice with separate sitting area. Nicely decorated. This owner has other prop. Will stay at any of these on next trip. They all have good locations and same caring caretaker. Will see to all needs!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eulynca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We enjoyed the spaciousness of the downstairs room. The a/c was cool and comfortable, which was so refreshing after a day on the motorcycle in July. Our host greeted us and set us up in the best room in the house. We had the use of covered parking and in the morning, we had a delicious breakfast served by a super gracious chef. The B and B was safe and clean and refreshing. We had complete privacy and helped ourselves to lots of cold drinks!

Room Tip: Choose the downstairs room! Upstairs rooms are smaller and you have all those stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Henry room last Saturday evening during a get away weekend to celebrate our 36th wedding anniversary. The Andrew Morris House was fantastic! The room was comfortable, clean and spacious. Breakfast was very good, in fact, I would rate it alongside any 5 star restaurant in Louisiana.

John was an excellent host/Innkeeper. If you enjoy staying at Bed and Breakfast's like we do, you must stay here. It is well worth the experience and should not be missed.

Room Tip: There are two rooms downstairs and two upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were on a business trip and stopped in Natchitoches not knowing what to expect. We google searched for bed and breakfast and found Andrew Morris. We were very pleased with the bedroom suite and the interior of the house. Clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great and the porch was a comfortable place to enjoy a glass of wine.

Room Tip: The inn keeper does not stay on property so if you have any questions you'll need to hold them u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Andrew Morris House. The house is lovely, though the upstairs rooms were turned into living space in the 1960s and lack the historic charm of downstairs. However, one upstairs room, The Tucker Suite, actually has two separate bedrooms. There don’t seem to be any other rooms with two beds in Natchitoches, so this is a find! Valerie is a great hostess and her breakfasts were definitely the highlight of our stay. Housekeeping is good, but needs a wee bit more attention to detail, as some of the corners were a slightly dusty. Overall, though, we had a very good stay. The house is within easy walking distance of the downtown shopping and dining area. And just FYI, the photo of the house pictured here is not correct, and may be one of the owner’s other properties. The actual house is white, and is also quite charming. Pictures are available on the Andrew Morris website.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Great value, historic, friendly. Amazing breakfast. Nestled in downtown Natchitoches with many restaurants, entertainment and shops.
Close to the river. We heard The visitors center is a must see, however it was closed on Sunday.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchitoches hotels
0.3 mi away
Chateau Saint Denis
Chateau Saint Denis
#5 of 15 in Natchitoches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
#1 of 15 in Natchitoches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Natchitoches
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Best Western Natchitoches Inn
Best Western Natchitoches Inn
#4 of 15 in Natchitoches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
#3 of 15 in Natchitoches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Church Street Inn
Church Street Inn
#6 of 23 in Natchitoches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Morris House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Morris House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Andrew Morris House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 422 Second Street, Natchitoches, LA 71457-4649
Location: United States > Louisiana > Natchitoches
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Natchitoches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Andrew Morris House is a Historic Louisiana antebellum planters cottage built around 1855. The beautiful home is located directly in the center of the National Landmark district just steps away from Historic Front Street. Recently renovated, the Andrew Morris House has beautifully appointed one and two bedroom suites, King and Queen Sized beds with updated private and spacious bathrooms with 1 or two person Jacuzzis. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing