We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Thanksgiving”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jefferson House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchitoches
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jefferson House
Ranked #7 of 23 Natchitoches B&B and Inns
Little Rock
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Thanksgiving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

My husband, our two weenie dogs and I stayed at the Jefferson House over Thanksgiving week. We pulled in and felt right at home seeing the "Weiner Dog Crossing" Sign. Little did we know that Lily and Roux would be such good hosts to Boudreaux and Stella. Herman and Arlean were gracious hosts and we enjoyed visiting with them during our stay. Breakfast was delicious every morning. Don't forget to ask Arlean for a receipe or two she is a great cook. I loved sitting on the dock and just enjoying their view. Best place I've stayed in Natchitoches. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GISDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
31
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

The Jefferson House is a lovely guest house run by a truly wonderful couple who made our stay absolutely amazing. They were so hospitable and ran such a charming place. It's extremely well located and has a great view. The breakfast each morning was delicious.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbandmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2010

My wife and I stayed here last night (May 2010), and it was terrific. I am what you would considered picky...it's a curse, so for me to be thrilled with a place is rare. The B&B sits on the river, our room was pristine, the breakfast was great, and the owners very friendly, but not overbearing. It really was perfect. You can't go wrong.

BTW This is the first time I have ever taken the time to write a review.

Kevin N.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

The headline says it all--If we can't get a room at Jefferson House, we just don't go. We go to LA twice a year to visit family, and we keep going back to JH for the friendly hosts, excellent breakfasts, and the lovely view of Cane River Lake from the shady deck. I could sit on that deck forever. We travel with a young child and the inn is child-friendly (and dog friendly, too). Ask Herman to take you out on the boat!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OK_travelers000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2009

What a wonderful place to stay. We were staying in New Orleans and decided to venture up north. Herman, Arlene, Lilly and Roux made us feel quite at home. Talk about Southern Hospitality. This B&B offers everything you could want. The breakfast was the best we had in Louisiana. Beds were so comfortable, we checked out and came back again. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. So comfortable we didn't want to leave. :) Herman has great stories and wonderful ideas of where to spend your days. We loved it here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dudesmommy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2005

We stayed here and loved it. The home is nicely decorated and it is nice staying in a B&B with a kingsize bed! The bed was large and comfortable and the breakfast the next morning was absolutely delicious! The owner insisted my husband eat as much as he wanted and even had the cook scramble more eggs for him. She could not have been more accommodating. Special touches like homemade preserves and jellies were available and the hosts really rolled out the red carpet for us although we were staying in one of their less expensive rooms, we were treated first rate. The location is lovely, right on the Cane River and convenient to the downtown area.

  • Stayed March 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cnh624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2004

Owners are good to work with. Great location and breakfast. Just a couple of blocks from the Natchitoches historic district.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchitoches hotels
0.6 mi away
Chateau Saint Denis
Chateau Saint Denis
#5 of 15 in Natchitoches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Natchitoches
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
#1 of 15 in Natchitoches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Natchitoches Inn
BEST WESTERN Natchitoches Inn
#4 of 15 in Natchitoches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
#3 of 15 in Natchitoches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Church Street Inn
Church Street Inn
#6 of 23 in Natchitoches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jefferson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson House

Property: Jefferson House
Address: 229 Jefferson St, Natchitoches, LA 71457-4369
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Natchitoches
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Natchitoches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jefferson House is a bed and breakfast located on Cane River in the Natchitoches Historic District, within walking distance of the shops and restaurants in the historic downtown area. We are just blocks away from Northwestern State University. Most rooms have king-sized beds and direct entrances off a porch and deck overlooking the river. All rooms have a private bath. Furnishings are contemporary. We offer a full breakfast, early coffee, WIFI, and free on-site parking. Pets are welcome at no extra charge with advance notice. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing