We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite as good.”
Review of Papa's Bar & Grill

Papa's Bar & Grill
Ranked #10 of 64 Restaurants in Natchitoches
Restaurant details
Freeport, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not quite as good.”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

They're connected to the adjacent restaurant "Mama's" but the food is not as good. I had the very forgettable Cajon Roast Beef Po Boy. The Caesar burger sounds good but actually not so much.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark7374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    30
    17
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Monroe, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Service, Atmosphere”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The fried fish and oysters were excellent. It is not often that I find a restaurant which fries fish and oysters with just the right coating of cornmeal (no heavy batter), the correct seasoning, and having a crispness on the outside while remaining soft on the inside. Some of the best fish and oysters that I have ever had.

Service was friendly, quick, and efficient.

Papa's has that hole in the wall atmosphere that larger restaurants try to imitate. But this is genuine. Food, service, and atmosphere all combine for a good experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No flavor...except black pepper”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This place is not good. It was recommended by a shop worker who must have been affiliated with the place. The food had absolutely no flavor, neither the crawfish pasta (the crawfish were chewy) or the tuna steak. I would highly recommend NOT going here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Heavenly Po' boys”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife and I visited Natchitoches (Nack-a-dish) Louisiana today and walked around town taking in the sights of this beautiful city along the historic Red River.
It got to be around lunch time so we started looking for a place to eat. We looked at the menu in the window of Papa's Bar and Grill and it looked good so we decided to give it a try. Inside is a very welcoming looking place. Our server Nicole is great and we lacked for nothing. We decided on an appetizer of Creole Matchsticks which is a mix of jalapeno strips and strips of onion deep fried in an excellent batter and served with Honey Mustard and Ranch dressings on the side. We both decided on one of our favorites, Shrimp Po' Boys. The Po' Boys were the best we have ever eaten. the place is clean the people friendly and you can't miss if you choose Papa's for a meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rodneytherock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchitoches
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Big C Night is amazing!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My Family and I look foward to Big C Night every week! Great price and the bread is amazing! A must Try!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NSUGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Papa's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing