We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Blessing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchitoches
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Starlight Plantation
Ranked #10 of 23 Natchitoches B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband, Jim and I spent three nights with Susan at the end of July. Jim HATES bed and breakfasts and I love them! He doesn't like frills, stairs, antique furniture, and eating breakfast with strangers--he had rather read his paper! Starlight was a terrific compromise. He loved it and so did I. Susan was delightful company sharing with us the awesome history of this area. If you get an opportunity to stay, please take it. Thank you, Susan!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank copperMcCune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 37 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

My Husband and I spent our honeymoon here 6 years ago and was finally able to go back for the weekend. It was as great as I remember. It is a very private, romantic setting. The view is great and the food and hospitality is as well. It is very peaceful and quiet yet close to town. Hopefully it will not be 6 years before we get a chance to go back. Already looking forward to our next trip. This place holds a very special place in my heart since we spent our honeymoon there and because of our recent trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My Wife and I shared 5 Wonderful days here. Our room was Beautifully decorated. We had our own private hot tub and spent Many hours gazing out at the Cane river while having a little red wine. Susan is Incredible! The food was Fantastic! This was truly an Awesome, Relaxing, Wonderful 5 days. We Will go again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

This place is awesome! It is inconspiculously situated adjacent to the owner's home. You can easily pass it up (as I did). On the second pass I noticed the small lettering on the mailbox. Upon entering, the expanse of nicely finished wood floors and walls. A wonderful "common area", where breakfast is served, houses a full size fridge, with bottled water and cold drinks, a wet bar, and a microwave. This whole area is made entirely of wood and glass. I am actually not a big fan of real wood but this is impressive. Enough about the wood. The ambiance is what this place is all about. A beautiful place up on the bank of the river, with multilevel decks going down to the river. Jaccuzzi on the balcony is very private. The place is spotless, small,
(2 spacious suites), very personal attention. The perfect place for an anniversary or any relaxing, romantic weekend. The town is low key with a great downtown strip to browse shops with nice restaurants.

Room Tip: Cedar suite has 2 bedrooms and a less private but larger jaccuzzi. The Cypress Room is a spacious d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

It didn’t take us long to realize that we were in for a treat, as we gazed upon the expanse of river before us. This B&B is situated in a bend of the Cane River and the view is spectacular. A long span of nicely done, covered, wooden decking stretches from one end to the other, on the river side, and an artistically designed staircase winds down, around a huge tree, past a firepit, then on to a covered fishing dock. There’s a “common area” with a full size frig, microwave & bar, where breakfast is served. Both guestrooms have large windows to take advantage of the views. Pictures do not do this place justice – because it’s so panoramic. Peace and privacy abounds, as we sipped wine from a cypress swing and shared our own personal hot tub. Susan, the hostess, couldn’t have been more personable and she’s also an excellent cook. Don’t miss this B&B – it was truly a pleasure to experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cypress Room, which was quite large and comfortable. In the future, If we traveled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We had read about the history of Natchitoches and the plantations and wanted to combine history tours, shopping and food. Starlight Planation is a great place touse as home base. We stayed for three nights and had an absolutely great time. The owner, Susan is very knowledgeable about the area and her recommendations for places to eat were spot-on! The hot tub was a great way to relax after long days visiting the plantations and historic downtown and the view from the deck was great morning and night. Coffee is at your door when you wake up and breakfast is served at the time you request. We were so relaxed we didn't want to leave and you can be sure we will go back to Starlight Plantation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

This was a Wonderful Bed and Breakfast! Everything from the decor to the rustic setting to our hostess was Absolutely Perfect!! We were made to feel like members of her family. We had a Fantastic time here. This B & B is not one of the biggest ones downtown but I promise you it more than makes up for that. I would 100% Highly Reccomend this Bed and Breakfast to Everyone!!! :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchitoches hotels
5.5 mi away
Chateau Saint Denis
Chateau Saint Denis
#5 of 15 in Natchitoches
76 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
#1 of 15 in Natchitoches
393 reviews
8.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
#2 of 15 in Natchitoches
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Natchitoches
5.4 mi away
Church Street Inn
Church Street Inn
#6 of 23 in Natchitoches
143 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sweet Cane Inn
Sweet Cane Inn
#7 of 23 in Natchitoches
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Plantation

Address: 2228 Highway 494, Natchitoches, LA 71457-2902
Location: United States > Louisiana > Natchitoches
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Natchitoches
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing