We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great lunch spot”
Review of Merci Beaucoup

Merci Beaucoup
Ranked #3 of 63 Restaurants in Natchitoches
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great lunch spot”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Merci Beaucoup is a great place for lunch or dinner with friends while shopping in downtown Natchitoches.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank A E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    74
    32
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meat pies, bread pudding, and everything in between.”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We shared several dishes, including red beans & rice, gumbo, jambalaya, and crawfish etouffee. All were delish! The winners were the mini meat pies and bread pudding. My boys even wanted meat pies again for dessert (before tasting the bread pudding, of course). Kelly was our server and he took good care of us, even though we were in the back room.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank onbutnotof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
180 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good, but with one misfire”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

After reading so many positive reviews here, I saved my appetite for a late lunch upon arriving in town for the evening. Arrived at around 3:30PM which put me right between the lunch and dinner crowds, so it was nice and quiet (just a handful of other patrons) but that may have been what caused the misfire. I ordered the Mini Natchitoches Meat Pies for an appetizer, and the Chicken Amulet (stuffed with jalapenos) with Dirty Rice for my entree.

The Meat Pies were excellent, nice and flaky and with tasty filling, and ranch dressing for dipping. The Chicken Amulet entree arrived hot and was also tasty, but the chicken was a bit overcooked and thus a bit dry. Fortunately, the dirty rice was delicious and moist, and I used it to accompany each fork-ful with some of the chicken, which saved the meal.

The proprietor came around to each table to ask how everything was, so I advised him of the above concern, and he seemed genuinely interested and said he would let the kitchen know so that they could work on improvement for "the next time". (I didn't make a huge issue of it as it was not a show-stopper...just a less-than-excellent serving, was all.)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“MMMM MMMMM Good”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Lori Tate recommended the potato soup and they were out of potato soup but the rest of the meal was excellent and they where fast and accurate with our large group orders.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Tx
Level Contributor
128 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We ate at Merci Beaucoup twice we were so impressed. The gumbo was great as was the fried shrimp. Good salads and wonderful bread pudding! Their gifts shops were awesome.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelmom077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merci Beaucoup also viewed

 

Been to Merci Beaucoup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing