We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chance to experience a gracious style of living”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Madewood Plantation House
Reviewed December 28, 2007

Although we were staying at a timeshare in New Orleans for a week, we decided we couldn't miss one night in a genuine plantation house. Chose Madewood because of Tripadvisor and guide book reviews.

The place is a little difficult to find (some other guests got lost using Mapquest) but a phone call to the hotel was all that was needed to set us straight.

We had the upstairs Master Bedroom which has floor length windows that slide up and enable you to go out onto the front porch. A lovely four poster bed, antique armoirs and a little sofa made it very comfortable. The only downside was the bathroom. It was constructed from the original closet and therefore is very small and there is a big step up which could be a concern for older guests.

Wine and nibbles were served at 6pm where we met the other guests. We were lucky to meet some great people and I think this is the biggest reason we enjoyed our visit. Dinner was nice and we were pleased that the wine decanter was refilled as necessary! The house was especially beautiful because of the Christmas trees and decorations.

After a huge breakfast, we had a tour of the house and learned about the background of the house's various owners. Since the owners often stay at the house, it has a comfortable lived-in atmosphere, with family photographs on display.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chillie_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 135 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2007

The Madewood is a unique experience. We stayed with our 2 year old and baby and were made to feel very welcome. We were greeted in the carpark by our one of the staff and settled in. There is a sign in the reception withe the names of the guests and their origins - very sweet. We had dinner on both nights in the amazing dining room with a small group of guests which made for very entertaining conversation. We had a lovely lady baby sit the children while we dined. The food was good homestyle southern cooking. After dinner we were led into the drawing room for a night cap. The rooms are beautifully decorated in antique furniture. We also had the pleasure of meeting the elderly lady owner of the property - she was in her 90s but loved a drink and a chat. Coming from London we really wanted something that embodied Southern charm and the Madewood delivered it in spades. It is an experience that you will not forget.

  • Stayed: September 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2006

March 2006
Madewood is a must see. Plantation is beautiful as well as grounds. Tour was very informative, We stayed as bed and breaksfast guess and enjoyed. Beautiful period room decor.Our room had balcony access. Dinner and breaksfast served was very good.
Staff was very attentive to ensure your stay is most memorable. Wish to revisit again in future.

4  Thank southernbelle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2005

We love to travel as a family with our 3 daughters. At the time of our impromptu stop outside N.O. our daughters were 3,6,&9. We did not have reservations and the Madewood would not turn us away. The staff accomodated us beautifully! They even allowed us to check out each available room before we settled on a very large suite with 2 huge queen beds and a private bath. We could not have felt more welcome in an atmosphere/industry that usually only welcomes honeymooners and romantics. The FOOD is to die for! I can't say enough about being able to get my girls to eat creamed spinach, they LOVED it! And the shrimp etouffee wrapped in french crepes was out-standing! The staff even made a special point to show our girls the kittens who lived on the property. We hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: June 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jtmcclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2005

My wife and I stayed at Madewood for one night in March, 2005. It was the stuff of fantasies. The house itself perfectly fits the stereotype of a southern plantation mansion, complete with huge oaks draped with Spanish moss. No wonder it has been used as a movie set for several productions, including “Sister, Sister” and “A Woman Named Moses.” Built in 1846, it has been lovingly restored and although most of the furnishings are not original, they fit the period and the architecture, and are noteworthy antiques. We stayed in the master bedroom – a huge room on the second floor at the front corner of the house just off the walk-out porch. The bed was a comfortable four-poster, and the room was so large there was a settee and coffee table at the foot of the bed in front of the fireplace. The bathroom was a small retrofit in one of the closets, with a step up that was a bit of a challenge in the middle of the night. Given the difficulties of putting plumbing and electric wiring into the house we gladly forgave this small shortcoming.

Guests met in the drawing room for wine and cheese before dinner. Our hostess was a charming local woman who got us in the mood with stories of the house and the family who had lived there, plus the saga of restoring the house. There were just two other couples that night, and everyone was congenial and “into” the experience. Dinner was in the formal dining room and both the atmosphere and the food were excellent. After coffee in the parlor we enjoyed roaming the house and imagining the life that was played out here.

One highlight of our stay was an outstanding swamp tour the next day, which was arranged by the staff. The tour company is Attakapus Adventures (-------) , family-owned and operated by local residents, one of whom has college-level training in the region’s wildlife. We heartily recommend a trip with them whether you stay at Madewood or not.

A nearby plantation house that also hosts overnight guests is Nottoway, which we toured earlier in the day (worth a visit!). It seemed to be a bigger operation without the same personal and intimate touches that we experienced, but it would make a good alternative stop if for some reason you can’t stay at Madewood.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank NaMakani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2005

Delightful experience. Innkeeper Christine Gaudet infuses Southern hospitality with Gallic charm. Lots to do in the area; after a plantation breakfast, spend the day touring nearby plantations or taking a swamp tour, then return to Madewood for wine and hors d'oeuvres, and a cordial dinner with the other guests. Plan to stay two nights; one is not enough.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sasthije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
La Mirada, CA
530
Reviewed December 20, 2004

After 3 days and nights in the Big Easy, it was such a pleasure to arrive at the Madewood Plantation. It is a beautiful and well-kept plantation home, still in the original family, with the original family of the former slaves still working on the property as the paid domestic staff and caretakers.

We had Mrs. M's room and it was a huge,friendly and comfortable suite. I wish we would have had more time in the area just to stay on! The staff was very accommodating and the hostess did an excellent job of helping strangers meet and get to know each other over wine and cheese.

Dinner was served in the old style by the domestic help in the dining room and was delightful. Everyone felt like we'd gone back 150 years ago, except for air conditioning, electricity and paid helpers. The attention to detail was fantastic and it was absolutely the best place we stayed in our 10 nights in Louisiana.

Highly recommended.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napoleonville
20.7 mi away
Nottoway Plantation Resort
Nottoway Plantation Resort
#1 of 1 in White Castle
1,330 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Inn at Houmas House
13.8 mi away
The Dansereau House
The Dansereau House
#1 of 2 in Thibodaux
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madewood Plantation House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madewood Plantation House

Address: 4250 Highway 308, Napoleonville, LA 70390-8737
Location: United States > Louisiana > Napoleonville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Napoleonville
Price Range: $257 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madewood Plantation House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Madewood Plantation House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madewood Plantation House Hotel Napoleonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing