We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been 5 stars”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Monroe
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The room and the hotel itself are in really good shape. The room was clean and comfortable. The only problem was about 4:45am on the morning of the 6-25-12 the smoke detector over the bed decided to go off. So i called the front desk to see what is going on, but after about 10 rings and no answer I gave up. I noticed the other alarm in the room wasn't going off nor were any of the alarms in the halls.

So I put a chair on the bed and took it down and got it to turn off. After getting ready for the day I took the detector to the front desk and there was this horrible music blaring from the breakfast area tv. I had to ask if anyone was home and when the guy came out I explained what happened. He apologized which was fine. I just didn't want charged for it.

Then at breakfast there was only about half the stuff out. So we ate was available. Then a staff lady came in and called the front desk guy over and started telling him everything he did wrong. His body language said he didn't really care what she had to say.

Management might want to look into this guy's attitude.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Pat c,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Comfort Suites of Monroe, LA. We were glad to see that you were satisfied with the cleanliness and comfort of your guest room. However, I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for the smoke detector and the inconvenience the noise caused you during your stay with us. I would like to assure you that we are looking into this right away and that the proper steps have been taken to correct this as soon as possible.

We truly value your comments and concerns about our hotel and our staff. Your review will be shared with them and also with management to help us improve for the future.

Sincerely,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Southern Hospitality Services, LLC
1401 Martin Luther King Jr Drive
Monroe, LA 71202
Phone: 318.547.4672
Fax: 318.410.0145

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 155 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

Everything was good at motel, except my room was next to kitchen(Rm#122) and it was noisy morning and night. Would stay at this motel again but not in that room. Friendly staff also.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordontgauthier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Troy1960,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Comfort Suites of Monroe, LA! We appreciate your comment about our friendly staff. However, I understand how important it is to get a good nights rest and would like to apologize for any inconvenience our breakfast and evening manager's reception may have caused you during your stay with us. Your comments will be shared with the staff and management.

We appreciate you and truly value your business. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Southern Hospitality Services, LLC
1401 Martin Luther King Jr Drive
Monroe, LA 71202
Phone: 318.547.4672
Fax: 318.410.0145

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My family and I have stayed here many times on our trips to/from Texas. We have been pleased with the quality and value of this hotel every time. The location is convenient to the interstate and it's near many fast and sit down restaurants. The rooms are what you expect from Comfort Suites--roomy and clean.

Breakfast is generally good with different hot and cold options. The woman who works as the breakfast attendant is very friendly and even helped us with making waffles one day. She keeps the area very clean and welcoming.

My only complaint is that the rugs could use a good shampooing in the rooms. We really like this hotel and will probably be returning when we travel again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgiagal02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jruss12, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Georgiagal02,

We appreciate you taking the time to review the Comfort Suites of Monroe, LA! We were so pleased to hear that you are consistently satisfied with our guest rooms and breakfast. We would also like to thank you for the comment about the carpet in the guest rooms. We take all of our guests comments into consideration to better ourselves.

We appreciate you and truly value your business. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Southern Hospitality Services, LLC
1401 Martin Luther King Jr Drive
Monroe, LA 71202
Phone: 318.547.4672
Fax: 318.410.0145

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The hotel grounds and lobby were clean. Room was clean and large. Each room was a microwave and small fridge. Furniture was in good shape and there was a smaller flat screen TV. Bed was comfortable. There were some minuses. First the drain stopper in the bathroom sink was missing. Not necessarily a big deal but if they can't fix a small thing like that I often wonder what other things. The HVAC labored all night to keep the room cool and was louder than it should be but it did not deter from my sleep. The morning breakfast was so-so. Very limited choices, one type of danish, one type of fruit, they did have a waffle machine and egg and sausage patties.

Good stay. I would stay again based on the value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jruss12, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Dear Triplewin,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Comfort Suites of Monroe, LA. We were happy to hear that you were pleased with the hotel grounds, the guest room, the furniture, and the bed during your visit at our hotel. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the missing drain stopper and HVAC caused you during your stay. I would like to assure you that we work hard to ensure each and every guest has a satisfying and relaxing experience. Therefore, all of our guests' comments and concerns are taken into consideration and shared with staff and management. We appreciate your comments and value your business.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Southern Hospitality Services, LLC
1401 Martin Luther King Jr Drive
Monroe, LA 71202
Phone: 318.547.4672
Fax: 318.410.0145

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Excellent, friendly staff and convenient location (easy to get to/from the highway). Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, and breakfast was good--waffles, cereal, fruit, yogurt, etc. Overall, think it was a good value and definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jruss12, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear Jen590,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review for the Comfort Suites of Monroe, LA! Your kind comments are truly appreciated and will be shared with the entire staff. We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Southern Hospitality Services, LLC
1401 Martin Luther King Jr Drive
Monroe, LA 71202
Phone: 318.547.4672
Fax: 318.410.0145

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The hotel was very nice, the rooms were great, the staff was very friendly. This hotel was near the university and very near the freeway for 'back on the road' access.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jruss12, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear Sharon N,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Comfort Suites of Monroe, LA! We truly appreciate your kind comments about our hotel and our staff. We certainly hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Southern Hospitality Services, LLC
1401 Martin Luther King Jr Drive
Monroe, LA 71202
Phone: 318.547.4672
Fax: 318.410.0145

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

The front desk staff is excellent, professional and courteous. The room was large, well appointed and clean. A good variety was provided for the continental breakfast. Short stay, just overnight
We would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trina53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jruss12, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Dear trina53,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Comfort Suites of Monroe, LA! We truly appreciate your kind comments regarding the staff, cleanliness, and breakfast selections. We are always delighted when our guests have a comfortable stay and are satisfied with our hotel.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Southern Hospitality Services, LLC
1401 Martin Luther King Jr Drive
Monroe, LA 71202
Phone: 318.547.4672
Fax: 318.410.0145

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monroe
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Monroe
1.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Monroe
0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 15 in Monroe
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Airport Inn
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Monroe
Residence Inn Monroe
#4 of 15 in Monroe
123 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites of West Monroe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 1401 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, Monroe, LA 71202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Monroe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Monroe
Price Range: $84 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites of Monroe has completed its over $500,000 renovation. Our guest suites, public areas are all "new". We are an interior corridor all suite hotel at a great location, centrally located near major businesses, local attractions, shopping, and dining. A few of our services include complimentary hot breakfast, free Wi-Fi in all areas and guest suites, micro-fridge in each guest room, indoor fitness center. We consider it an honor to serve as the "Hotel of Choice" for travelers to Northeast Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Monroe
Comfort Suites Monroe
Monroe Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing