We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step Back in Time......The Tasty Way”
Review of Mohawk Tavern

Mohawk Tavern
Ranked #14 of 218 Restaurants in Monroe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
260 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Step Back in Time......The Tasty Way”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The Mohawk is simply a Monroe legend and it is like traveling through the looking glass of time back to an old-style dining experience.

I go there whenever I am in town and have never been disappointed. The place is timeless and tasty.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    34
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Some things don't change, and that's good!”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Over 40 years ago, the Mohawk's worn tables and chairs hosted my high school buddies when we craved hot, FRIED seafood, so a reunion weekend sent us piling into the old place.

Our crowd overran the waitstaff, which never were too bubbly or responsive. Still, we eventually got our food.

That's where the five stars start. Exquisitely stuffed whopper shrimp, with a great secret breading. Would you believe the iceberg salad was delicious? Fresh, crisp, and COLD! Gumbo with a real roux.

One new addition: broiled/grilled fish is now available!!! If you're headed Monroe way, don't miss the Mohawk. It's a gem disguised in a nondescript exterior.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank normalwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, SC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food in an Older Location”
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

The recommended shrimp were very good, but the gumbo was outstanding! For dessert we had the Bannas Foster Ice Cream Cake. It was a perfect balance of great flavor and a cool pleasing way to finish the meal. Don't forget to leave some room for that.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twvaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossett
Level Contributor
906 reviews
443 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“A Monroe institution”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The Mohawk Tavery is the most consistent restaurant I have ever know...I have been eating there for over 50 years and have never been disappointed. The shrimp delite is extraordianry as is the shrimp platter. The oysters are always COLD and FRESH. The atmosphere is totally unique and the waiters have been there forever. A good sign of good food and good service.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gran7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“old family Mohawk, a local seafood place”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

rustic and looks the same as in the 50's , good oysters during season, great gumbo and pasta. The beer on draft is cold in frosted mugs. Great combo seafood dinners. Waiters in white coats that serve new Orleans style. Owners always behind the bar. Closed Sun and Monday. lots of lunch specials during the week The shrimp delight salad is a fab not to be missed food, but be prepared for onion breath. Locates ON Louisville Ave , main street coming into Monroe across main bridge. very casual , family friendly in one side, adult booths on bar side.Same waiters have been there as long as I remember.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindyingramphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mohawk Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing