We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Road trip Stopover” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TownePlace Suites Monroe

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
TownePlace Suites Monroe
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Monroe
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect Road trip Stopover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We've stopped here twice for one night stopovers...it's right off the highway which makes its easy to get on and off...the rooms are clean, new and very comfortable with all the in-room amenities including microwave and kitchenette. Plus they have a decent breakfast in the morning included in the rate...can't ask for more!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pony101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    51
    9
    9
    5
See reviews for
72
18
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Wastbasket in the room was full of trash and put in a cabinet in the bathroom. The hall had trash in it that was there during the 15 hour duration of my stay. When I came down on the elevator, it was full of wet towels and had some trash. I mentioned this to the desk clerk who was very sorry and took $10 off the bill. The rooms and bathroom appear clean and well stocked but the above problems signify that the property will go downhill rapidly if there is not better oversight.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
234 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was my first stay at a TownePlace Suites. I was in a King Studio suite with a small kitchenette (two burner, small dishwasher, and medium sized refrigerator). I found the room comfortable with plenty of electrical outlets. There was a nice work/desk area; however, you cannot work at the desk and look up to see what is on TV because it is behind you. If you choose to sit on the couch there was not a side table to put a drink. They had an ottoman that had a table overlay that you could use for a coffee table or remove to put your feet; however, it was fun putting the overlay somewhere without tripping over it. The studio suite is smaller than other Suite Hotels and I finally found the closet in the bathroom (odd location). These are minor design issues. The things that are important to me were met. These are, overall clean, comfortable controllable air conditioning (no huge swings), bed was very comfortable, bathroom clean, coffee maker with coffee (present), decent sized refrigerator (present); continental breakfast area (present). The nice to haves are: restaurants within walking distance (several - wide variety), free parking, and free internet (although slow). Staff was friendly and helpful. Definitely will stay at another TownePlace Suites whether in Monroe or elsewhere.

Room Tip: Studio suites are small/cozy. Think regular sized hotel room with a king bed and the kitchenette in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuietmanTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

This was our first stay at a TownePlace Suites. We picked this hotel because it accepted dogs.
The staff was quite nice and helpful and the hotel was nicely decorated. Unfortunately, the hotel was sold out, which created some problems. The only room available when we made our reservation was a queen suite. While the room has a full kitchen, to call it a suite is overreaching. The room was more like a studio and was actually a lot smaller than the suites in other mid-priced hotels. I was told that the king and two-BR suites are larger, but I did not see them, so I cannot comment. We did enjoy having a real refrigerator. There is also a lot of storage.
When we checked in, it took nearly an hour to get a luggage cart. The hotel only has two luggage carts. When we got a cart, I discovered there was only one curb cut and it was not at the entrance to the hotel, but off to the side, which meant that access could be blocked by large trucks.
The breakfast spread was reasonable for a mid-priced hotel, but there was only one waffle maker. I waited over 20 minutes to make a waffle. And then the gestapo attendant moved in and said she had to shut down the breakfast at 9:30 even though there were people waiting to use the waffle maker. Bad customer service by this one person.
I thought the towels and washcloths were pretty thin for this nice of a hotel, also. Although, the hotel is non-smoking, they allowed smokers to stand right outside the door to smoke, which I believe is against the law.
At lot of these complaints are small, but what would it cost to invest in another luggage cart and another waffle maker? When we are traveling with our dogs, we will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFtimetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfolt310, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Monroe, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Hello,
Thank you for your valuable comments on our hotel. Thank you so much for understanding that we were incredibly busy with several large groups during your stay. We will look into the issues and take appropriate action when possible. We do hope you will give us another chance when you return our area.
Thank you for choosing to stay at the TownePlace Suites by Marriott Monroe,
Sarah Heatherly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay there last night. Excellent customer service, wonderful staff who assisted us any time we needed it and very well maintained. We would stay there again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maddieabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

This property was my first experience with a TownPlace Suites Hotel, but I have since stayed at a second property and booked a second stay at this property based on my first stay. I picked up a few groceries at a local store and enjoyed working/eating in my room some evenings, as the rooms include a regular-sized refrigerator/freezer, microwave/convection oven and stovetop, as well as a full-sized sink and dishwasher. There was also plenty of open floor space to accommodate my DVD exercise routine. A breakfast of hard-boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, juices and coffee is also included in the price of your room. A Courtyard with a Bistro restaurant/bar is conveniently located next door...in fact, they share a parking lot.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendywwBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Church Point, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Terrific staff. Everyone had a smile. The workers were frequently chatting with guests, joking with each other, and basically taking care of business while seeming to enjoy the whole thing. I know that if the staff is happy, I will be.

Location is great for a business traveler -- right off the interstate, close to the airport, and near a huge shopping district, including the local mall and a ton of chain restaurants. Not real touristy, but for a business traveler that doesn't have a lot of time to grab a bite or hunt down a particular store for necessities, everything is there.

In the room was a very nice kitchenette, stocked with flatware, dishes, etc. The appliances are not skimpy, either. Microwave, iron, etc, were quality stuff.

Work area consisted of a stationary desk, a movable table (on casters), and a nice lap desk.

A few minor concerns:

1/ more interior soundproofing is in order. Even the lightest steps in the hallway could sound like a herd of elephants. Ironically, noise from the airport and interstate were non-factors.

2/ Continental breakfast could be fuller. Not sparse, but lacks compared to places like Hampton Inn. (NOTE: my visit to the breakfast nook was accompanied by the most wonderful hostess, who made it her job to chat up the guests and made them feel welcome. Incredible charm and energy for someone who has to be at work at 6:30am!)

3/ Local phone calls are an additional charge. My cell phone was giving me trouble and let's say discovered this the hard way. This is unexpected from hotels of this class.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riroon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monroe
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Monroe
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 14 in Monroe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Monroe
Residence Inn Monroe
#4 of 14 in Monroe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Airport Inn
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Monroe Airport
7.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Monroe
Hilton Garden Inn West Monroe
#2 of 14 in West Monroe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Monroe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Monroe

Property: TownePlace Suites Monroe
Address: 4919 Pecanland Mall Dr, Monroe, LA 71203-7012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Monroe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Monroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Monroe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your TownePlace Suites Monroe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing