We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“uuuugggghhhhh....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Monroe
Lubbock
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“uuuugggghhhhh....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Not a good hotel to drive into after being in the car all day. Disappointed from the start. The hotel is very old and feels that way. The pool looks old with cracked tiles and the water looked smoggy. No pool towels so you will have to bring one from the room. I was shocked to find out my pet fee was $50!!! That is over half what I paid for the room. The hotel next door had free pet stays... just fyi! Rooms were average and tv was large box on dresser. Location made me a little uncomfortable so I chose to park in the front of the building instead of in the back closer to my room. Glad it was only one night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beffythompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie R, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the hotel to let me know what things were important to you that needed looking into. Yes the hotel is old and in need of renovations. I have been trying to concentrate since getting here a few months ago on changing attitudes and cleaning correctly and thoroughly. The pool towels were disappearing every time we turned around and it was getting expensive to replace both kinds of towels every month, we have since gotten in a large number of pool towels after stocking up for a couple months on the room towels. You commented about the hotel next door, yes the La Quinta does not charge for pets. After I saw your comment I researched the other hotels in Monroe and their pet fees. I found we were in the middle with our pet fee with all the newer hotels not taking pets at all. We are looking forward to new owners and a lot of upgrades please check back on us the next time you are in town and you may see a whole “new” hotel depending on when you come back. Thank you again for staying and passing on your comments to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    23
    15
    33
See reviews for
24
11
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Items on the web site were misleading...the longer I stayed, the worse it got. Game room had no A/C, work out room was terrible, the outdoor pool was nonexistent, indoor pool was in a large area that was not ventilated causing it to be very hot and stuffy and chlorine was so strong my kids could not stay in the water long. Found stale cake all over the floor in my room after being there two days. I did not bring any food into my room. Cake remained on floor through my entire 5 day stay. Mold in the bathrooms. Bathroom receptacle was coming out of the wall. Did not get room service one day and had to ask for towels. The next day, room service left two bath towels and one wash rag - for four people. Had to unplug lamps and clocks to plug in devices since no extra receptacles were available. Service in the bar was also terrible. Drinks way over priced for the quality of the hotel. Hotel needs a complete overhaul of patched and pieced together amenities. There were a few employees that were professional and hospitable. It is a shame the negative overshadows them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monroe hotels

Largo, FL
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

From the outside it looks rundown.

Changed rooms 5X because 1) AC didn't work 2) AC stopped working 3) Room smelled like smoke 4) Room reeked of mold 5) Another smokey room 6) finally found a room with working AC and didn't smell of smoke or mold.

Train seemed to run by every 30 minutes or so.

Outdoor pool is closed off.

Indoor pool was cloudy.

Room key stopped working every day for three days straight.

Housekeeping sucked. Found giant wad of hair in room. I guess they don't vacuum much.

Came back one evening and found a pile of dirty towels still outside our door. "They must have forgot to pick up" No kidding.

One day they must have also forgot to drop off clean towels. Called front desk and they would "send them right up". Had to go to front desk to get myself. Asked why. "Well a lot of rooms called wanting towels and I must have forgotten yours".

Twice found a dirty wash cloth still hanging from shower stall after they "cleaned" the room.

Front desk lady was nice and offered us a free dinner to make up. Should have turned down. It was as bad as rest of place.

Why didn't we move hotels. Because none were left in the area. Booked another place for two rooms through Expedia. Got to hotel and they only had one. Expedia messed up and tried to find me a place with two rooms. Due to multiple events in town the only place they could find was this dump. After waiting two hours for them to find me a place and I heard it was a Clarion I thought it would be good. Turns out there was a reason this was the only place in town still with rooms.

Don't walk, run away from this hell hole.

Room Tip: Choose the YMCA over this place. If I could rate it lower than 1 I would.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LargoLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

There were few cars in the poorly lit lot the hotel appeared empty. Our room was at the very back. We walked through the "dome" and passed the murky green indoor pool and the covered, neglected outdoor pool. Public areas were not air conditioned. Disrepair was everywhere. In our room, we found a puddle of dried urine about six inches in diameter on the bathroom floor. We decided to leave. The desk clerk and security man were kind. My charge was refunded but we could not find a vacancy in Monroe or W. Monroe. The security guard suggested Ruston, 37 miles down the road. That would be my recommendation, too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank optimistdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Dirty, falling apart, terrible service. I'm worried things are going to crawl all over me while I sleep. Terrible area. Outside door was unlocked when I came in the room and the train rolls through right behind the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentley, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

why you ask? The internet here is Soooo slooooow. If you travel for business, don't risk lack of internet speed to get your proposals done, or update your blog... it's gonna take you awhile to do so.
The suites are nice and big, all the rooms are decent size. This room is a standard double and has a fridge and fridge... I wouldn't pay any more than 75 for this room, the charged me 85 discounted from the regular 95.
I don't blame anyone just yet for not having AC, things break... let's see how the respond. That will let us know of the regard for the guest. It has been about 40 mins since the maint. man told me he can't fix the AC. I called and was told that someone at the front desk will have to call me back.. tick tock..... tick tock... oh my it is hot hot hot ..... An hour later, I get a new room. It is a downgrade though. :(

Room Tip: Slow internet, big suites in the atrium with with separate bedroom, Stay away from the Train Tracks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johndukejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for a family reunion and it was horrible. There were roaches in our room.The hallways weren't air conditioned. There was an area where there were dirty towels that had been sitting in the heat which created an odor that was unbearable. The shower curtain smelled of urine and had mildew on it. The staff is present but there definitely didn't seem to be any managing happening. We ordered food in the bar the first night. 45 min later and we still hadn't received it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nthebizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monroe
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 14 in Monroe
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Monroe
3.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
1.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Monroe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Monroe
Days Inn Monroe
#8 of 14 in Monroe
3.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Monroe
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Airport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center

Property: Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center
Address: 1051 Martin Luther King Jr Dr, Intersection of I-20 and Hwy 165, Monroe, LA 71203-5542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Monroe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Monroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your day in the heart of everything Monroe has to offer, business, sports, shopping, dining and entertainment. The Clarion Inn & Suites Conference Center makes getting there fast and convenient. Only 10 minutes from the Monroe Airport, you will spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Monroe to do. And there is easy access to I-20 and Highway 165. Hotel is near the University of Louisiana at Monroe, Centurylink, Monroe Civic Center, and minutes to Monroe Speedway which hosts several local events and racing. The Pecanland Mall is just around the corner & we offer complimentary airport shuttle service. The Clarion Inn & Suites Monroe is here to be your personal retreat. Start your day by joining us for breakfast in the French Market Cafe. You will have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our indoor pool and relax. When its time to dine you can enjoy a dining adventure at TK's Bar & Grill. Coming for a sporting event? The hotel offers the most rooms with 2 beds in the area and is not far from Beidenharn Sports Complex, ULM Intramural Fields & the Monroe Athletic Club, Chenault Soccer fields & the Ouachita River. Looking for a place for your event? We are a conference facilities that has versatile meeting rooms and catering options for up to 500 people. Let us host your next event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn & Hotel Monroe
Clarion Inn And Suites And Conference Center
Holiday Inn Monroe
Holiday Inn Hotel Monroe
Monroe Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing