We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful service, long waits insurmountable.”

Ranked #90 of 218 Restaurants in Monroe
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
New Orleans
Level Contributor
352 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Dreadful service, long waits insurmountable.”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

In town visiting our daughter, crashing at the very good nearby Marriott Residence Inn. We were casting about for a place to celebrate said daughter, a challenge in this relative food desert. I was looking at the Waterfront Grill, but the menu was a bit unexciting. Said daughter (D1) said that she was craving sushi. Ronin was a block away, and seemed well rated.

The wait for 1st food was mind-boggling. We were almost too weak to eat. Delivery was erratic, attention sporadic. The sushi itself ranged from good to not quite. There WAS a large party (literally) in the next room, but the service issues far exceeded that excuse. The sushi bar seemed brutally understaffed, certainly for a Saturday night. Bad management? All left with frustration and indigestion.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rigel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

No complaints, but nothing spectacular. Rice on rolls was a little hard. Hibachi was good and lunch prices are good for the amount you get.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Japanchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Martinville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
158 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“food is great if you can excuse the waitstaff”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

went with family, not too long a wait but they seemed a bit unorganized. Anyway, got a regular table by the bar, atmosphere was fine and they were very busy. The first sign that something was wrong was when I ordered a bottle of wine off their wine list and the girl had no idea what i was talking about. After a few minutes another waiter came over and cleared it up for her(apparently she was new). We ordered some sushi, some hibachi items and some stuff from the regular menu (probably a waiters' nightmare) and everything actually came out within 5 minutes of everything else and it was all very good...... I had hibachi scallops and steak and was very happy with mine...... I would go back if I was in Monroe wanting this type of food, but apparently some of the waitstaff are pretty clueless

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cajunflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossett
Level Contributor
914 reviews
448 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Great food made up for slow service”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our meal got off to a slow start. The manager finally explained it was a new server they should not have given her so many people to serve and more training. However, what a show our chef had for us. We were entertained and the meal was delicious and prepared very quickly. Prices are fair.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gran7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nasty and Rude!”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Waited 45 minutes in line and no one took our names or addressed us for the wait. Several couples waited and left until this wait besides us. When finally addressed the person had just came slamming and snatching in a rudely manner, as if bothered by a call in to work on his hangover from the night before... he sat us at a table that have been open the entire time... I request the Hibachi Bar… that was what we were waiting on the whole time... he said, "I'm sorry they all busy, you sit here" I again stated we are here for the Hibachi Bar... He said you sit here and wait. Then he just left, the table was nasty on the top and sides, with sticky crud. Then the smoke started rolling through in a thick choking cloud... it was all too much for us, so we left and shook the sand from our sandals on this place...I don't give them a year. Crapping help can ruin a restaurant fast.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ronin Japanese Hibachi Steak & Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Ronin Japanese Hibachi Steak & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing