We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pretty terrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knights Inn Metairie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knights Inn Metairie
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Metairie
fun4oli
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pretty terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I think this place serves just one purpose like for me when I cam in to New Orleans airport after midnight and looked for a (somewhat) cheap place to sleep and then go on the next morning. It is one of these pretty run down places where you don't want to step on the carpet with bare feet, in an isolated area somewhere by the train tracks and warehouses. I paid 70 bucks at Kayak, but next time I would spend a bit more money and use one of the nicer other chain hotels/motels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank fun4oli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    12
    4
    11
See reviews for
4
8
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
137 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

This Knights Inn needs a LOT of repair and maintenance. The outside surfaces are in really bad condition and are falling apart. Too bad I can't rate this a zero. Room interior is better, but still is only "so-so". Take your valuables out of your car and into your room. Watch your step on the stairs, because of loose, broken, and missing stair treads.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobfox98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Average hotel, stayed here 4 nights for business, nothing fancy but rooms were clean, reserved a smoking King room with a fridge & Micro. Front desk staff checked me in promptly and maid service came by every day. There was loud music playing at night but only lasted a couple of hours. They have a Sonics drive thru next door. Area does feel rough after dark but I had no problems. I would stay here again if back in the area.

Room Tip: Get a room near the back due to road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgladieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

We booked this motel only to have a place to stay before departing on a Caribbean cruise. BIG mistake was to book the cruise just before Mardi Gras. This place was the only game in town. I had read other reviews and was not inclined to stay here and was searching on Hotels.com/Expedia.com and spoke with their representative, she Assured me that any property they use was safe/okay, etc. even when I expressed my concerns. With that in mind, and for just one night we thought it would be okay. Wrong. Even the taxi driver who dropped us off asked why we were staying there. We got to our room and it was acceptable overall, considering our circumstances. The scariest thing was that the door did NOT LOCK! The fold over latch did but that did not give us a warm fuzzy. We barricaded the door against the dresser as best we could with chairs and the ironing board. We were kept up most of the night by slamming doors, loud voices, and knocking on other doors, which somewhat abated after those people went in to Mardi Gras. We slept fitfully until they returned about 4 a.m. and we just waited until the morning arrived. When we went to check out, we encountered two other couples/families who had endured the same experience, the family of four being given a single bed for the four of them and their room was not even ready until well after midnight! We have felt more secure in border town hotels in Mexico than this place. And why on earth have doors right next to the window?
The staff were nice but this place was pretty scary.

Room Tip: Try a different motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estwhiletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

Stayed here and other remarks above put me off stayed here before better this time going through major reconstruction was clean, yes few cigarette marks but this is why its so cheap without any frills not as bad as what others have before said, short drive from airport and down town.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyJot78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2004

New Orleans was great. However, we arrived a day earlier then initially planned and had to find a place to stay for the night. What a mistake it was to stay at the Travelodge. Other lodgers were yelling very loudly from 4-6 am. The front desk would not take action to deal with the situation and NO ONE was able to sleep during that time. I feared for my family's safety.
Additionally, the bathrooom door and toilet barely worked. The carpet was disgusting. My 10 month old son was covered with a sooty grime after crawling around on the carpet for a few minutes. We had to hold him the entire time we were there. The room smelled badly even though it was a "non-smoking" room. I don't ask for much from a motel room, but this was the worst place I've stayed in the last five years.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Metairie hotels
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 22 in Metairie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Metairie New Orleans Airport
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn New Orleans Veterans / Metairie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Metairie (New Orleans)
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn New Orleans Causeway
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Landmark Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Metairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Metairie

Property: Knights Inn Metairie
Address: 5733 Airline Dr, Metairie, LA 70003-3803 (Formerly Travel Inn Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Metairie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Metairie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Metairie 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Knights Inn Metairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Inn Plaza Hotel Metairie
Travel Hotel Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing