We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Don't Be Fooled by "Remodeling" Claims” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Metairie
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't Be Fooled by "Remodeling" Claims”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Stayed here for business in December 2011 because it was the location of our business meetings. Although the website claims to have renovated and remodeled, you can still feel the old, dampness, and mustiness of this place. The lobby is immaculate and really fools you. But, as soon as you get on the elevator, it all changes. The rooms are damp, musty and "heavy." The dampness and mustiness really make the entire room smell like mildew. To top it off, my fitted sheet was put on inside out, there are mildew stains around the A/C vent, and the towels smell dirty. Honestly, there are absolutely no redeeming qualities about this place. When I asked to change rooms, the front desk staff were hostile and reluctant to accommodate me because I had purchased the hotel stay with a package on Travelocity. I travel to New Orleans about 1-2 times a month. I will NEVER stay here, again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    100
    62
    15
    5
See reviews for
64
49
18
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
little rock arkansas
Level Contributor
277 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

New Orleans hotels were mostly booked and remaining rooms were pricey. I was looking for reasonable rate, a gym and free parking on this visit and settled on this place. It is an older multi-story hotel about a 10 minute drive to downtown and sits in an asphalt parking lot near a shopping center. I paid a little over $100. There was a little average gym but no more amenities. No breakfast except a discount at an adjacent cafe, and not much else. The room had been remodeled recently and was nice. The staff was reasonably helpful and gave me a late checkout since I was a member of the priority club.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimjade3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I booked a 2 night stay at this hotel for my daughter and her friends over the Voodoo Music Experience weekend. So I did not see the hotel/room myself but my daughter, who is a world traveler, was very pleased. She said the 2-queen bed room was very nice and clean, and the beds were very comfortable. The only drawback was it's lack of proximity to the French Quarter but we knew this before making the reservations. It was also a bit pricey ($370 after all taxes for the 2 nights) but somewhat expected considering it was Halloween weekend and a music festival in town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvmooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

The rooms are quite spacious and comfortable with Wifi in the rooms. Lakeside Shopping Mall, Best Buy and Wall Mart are all short cab drive from the hotel. Airport is also quite near the hotel. Quantity of each dish served in the restaurant is more than adequate for a person. Avoid ordering 2 dishes as it will go waste. Missing electric pot to make coffee in the room was immediately replaced in the morning after I spoke to the front desk.

Room Tip: All rooms are Non Smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I prefer the one at Gretna but this one wouldn't require you to pay a toll fee every time you drive to downtown. It's cheaper to stay there than in downtown. It's clean. Helpful and friendly staffs. Everything was clean. I have yet seen the gym but I heard they had full set of dumbbells and the gym was good. There wasn't fridge of microwave. There are a few options to eat if you don't want to go to fancy dinner at downtown.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel had good reviews online, so I decided to give it a try. It has been remodeled and updated, but not thoroughly. The room had an awful, stale smell. The thermostat was not adjustable either, so we could not cool the room sufficiently. To put it in perspective, we almost checked out. The only reason we didn't was because it was late and we were exhausted.

On the plus side, it is very conveniently located, right off Causeway Blvd and I-10. It also had a pool, if that interests you, and plenty of easy, free parking. The price wasn't bad either.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camalabbla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed here for a family reunion, and also spent time in New Orleans for family reunion. This hotel is a 3 min ride away from the fabulous New Orleans, and 3 min ride away from a gigantic commercial district in Metairie consisting of all types of stores and a mall also.

Room Tip: Rooms are average-nice, but if you upgrade to a suite you'll wont regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S3anShar33fCr0sby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Metairie hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Metairie (New Orleans)
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 22 in Metairie
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Landmark Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard New Orleans Metairie
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Metairie
Hampton Inn Metairie
#4 of 22 in Metairie
4.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
1.7 mi away
New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport
Address: 2261 N Causeway Blvd, Metairie, LA 70001-1934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Metairie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Metairie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, complimentary fitness center, state-of-the-art business center, cozy outdoor pool, guest laundry facilities, game arcade, 32” HDTV and mini fridge in every room, full-service restaurant and bar, complimentary airport transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport Hotel Metairie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing