We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kosher Moroccan Restaurant: great either way”

Casablanca Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Casablanca Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 511 Restaurants in Metairie
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
LA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Kosher Moroccan Restaurant: great either way”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Although Morocco would not normally be considered a middle eastern country, Moroccan food certainly has many similarities. This restaurant is run by real Moroccans who serve real Moroccan food in addition to the typical dishes expected for a 'middle eastern' place. Although located in a small strip mall across from the gigantic Lakeside Mall in this New Orleans suburb, it is decorated with many genuine artefacts from that African country. The food is outstanding, my favorites being chicken bastilla and stuffed cornish hen. The Chicken Bastilla Casablanca is a semi-sweet seasoned pie made with saffron chicken, crushed almonds layered in filo dough topped with cinnamon. No item suffers from the place being Kosher, which has the advantage that it is perfect for someone with lactose intolerance - especially the cheese cake which tastes as if it were made with real creamy cheese.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaPaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    6
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wash DC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I was not happy that my first and only night in NO was with my friend that keeps Kosher. I wanted to eat some gumbo and other NO foods. We ended up at this Morrocan Kosher place and I have to tell you it was AMAZING! Some of the best food I ever ate (kosher or not). I highly recommend. Beautiful place, great service and A+ food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank faxdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOLA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peace in the Middle East”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

This is what peace in the middle east could look and taste like--wonderful! Really excellent, kosher middle eastern/Morrocan food. A genuinely pleasant, quite different experience for the New Orleans/Metairie region--i.e., not fried seafood or chicken.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jamminedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Came here with a friend who keeps kosher. Excellent food, whether or not one keeps kosher. Ambiance is lovely, service was delightful. I would certainly return and would encourage anyone who likes middle eastern food to come here.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanK283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
188 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“One of the best cultural experience meals I have ever had”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Just got back from a 5 day professional conference in New Orleans. I was told by many people here in New York that I need to eat at this Moroccan restaurant. I wasn't sure why I would go out of my way to leave the tourist section of New Orleans, and pay for a cab, but now I know why. This place was amazing. It might even be one of the best restaurants I have ever been to. It is situated in a small strip mall in a suburb of New Orleans. It was a $20 cab fare from my hotel in convention center, but worth every penny. The restaurant is themed as if you are in Morocco (made me feel like I was at Epcot Center in Florida). The waitresses were very friendly and really took care of our table. When I said I had never eaten Moroccan food, but just wanted to try something great, she brought me an amazing soup, followed by a sampler dinner plate. Everything was delicious, and I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a cultural highlight. It also happens to be strictly kosher, so if you have colleagues or clients that need kosher food, this is a place where everyone can feel comfortable, and you can really wow a client.

Also keep in mind it is closed on Friday nights and Saturday lunch time.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bocaberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casablanca Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Casablanca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing