We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Orleans Style Seafood Restaurant in Old Metairie”

Galley Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #55 of 511 Restaurants in Metairie
Price range: $1 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New Orleans Style Seafood Restaurant in Old Metairie”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Galley serves some of the best boiled and fried seafood in the New Orleans Metro area. Located on Metairie Road in Old Metairie, it draws diners from all around. They have wonderful soups, gumbos and have a dozen or so entrees. There are daily specials that are hard to beat. Their staff is always friendly and imaginative. I brought some out of town guests who wanted to try "a little of a number of dishes." The waiter made several suggetions and just kept on bringing out "a little of this soup, a little of that jambalaya, some boiled shrimp, some friend oysters." My friends swooned over the fried shrimp, which were good sized and crunchy on the outside and tender and moist on the inside. The man is an airline pilot and eats all over the country, but hadn't eaten "fresh gulf shrimp in years."

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    31
    11
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
metairie
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT DUCK APPETIZER”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Always good seafood, on Metairie Road, nice parking lot, many specials on the board so if you are super-particular you should find some thig for your taste

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank fred m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A must have quality seafood!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

It was just the beginning of crawfish season and I was referred to the This place. I am a native of New Orleans who moved away for college , so I know good food and have high expectations. The Galleys crawfish is seasoned Perfectly. The cooked food is awesome as well. The only drawback is it is priced than the average reataurant but with that said I have and will always pay more foe consistent quality

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MesaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Level Contributor
163 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Oh yeah this is good.”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Okay, so on the inside it looked like a dive. From the outside, it looked like a C+ at most. The food was awesome, if a little expensive. The kids menus are 10.00 for anything you order and no drink included. I had the seafood cakes as an appetizer. They were awesome and the kids had the fried shrimp-awesome. This is the food I will miss as I go back home. Yum

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank KansasCityTootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“New Orleans Seafood Classic”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I am so glad this place exist. I go here to restore my faith in New Orleans good food. Not touristy, but real, and beyond the three fried seafood options on bread and french fries. No! Real recipes like stuffed mirliton. Their frying is good, but you can eat so much more here. The special board tells the story, I am always pleased with variety in such a small place. I think its family owned, since somebody sure takes pride in it. The staff is very attentive and never artificial. Every neighborhood used to have places like this. Katrina, tourism, chains, economics...all have taken their toll, but this one survives...and its one of the best. Prices were raised after Katrina, but even though a dollar or two more there is value in these dishes...and generous portions too!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank liznbob2653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galley Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Galley Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing