We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morning Call

Morning Call
Ranked #1 of 16 Coffee & Tea in Metairie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gloucester City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
152 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

It just would not be a trip to New Orleans without a visit to Cafe du Monde. After reading about Morning Call we thought we would try it out on this visit. We went about 11PM on a Friday night. The inside was just OK, kinda messy and dirty. Three servers were on their cell phones and it took about ten minutes to get waited on though it was over half empty. The beignets seem kinda dense and chewy. Unlike du Monde, the beignets come plain with powdered sugar shakers on the table, a good idea in theory, but the sugar was all caked on the lid and we couldn't get any out (we tried a shaker on another table but same thing). On future visits to NOLA we will skip Morning Call and go back to Cafe du Monde.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blake A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    76
    22
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“sugar sugar sugar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

there is a reason the sugar bowl is played in NoLa, and this is the kind of restaurant that reflects that tradition. this nearly impossible to find place which has very limited parking does the hot fried dough with sugar on top very well - and provides plenty of sugary drinks to wash it down with. probably a good place to hit if you are into subtler tourist experiences than famed cafe du monde - not that there is anything wrong wit that

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HistorianOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best beignets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The new location at City Park is awesome. This is a much better experience than the overrated and crowded Cafe Du Monde in the French Quarter. The beignets and cafe au lait are amazing, and the location is peaceful, with ample parking, clean restrooms, and beautiful surroundings.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShayC30375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beignets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

It's pretty hard to mess up donuts and coffee. I loved the 24 hour service and the lack of lines that you find at the competing beignet place.

Helpful?
Thank rrupp1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
161 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

My family and I visited Morning Call last week for the first time. I was excited to introduce my nephew to beignets. I generally go to Cafe Du Monde when in the area but having read the reviews we decided to try both places on this trip. The location was good. The service and dining area were fine. Unfortunately the beignets were not what I expected. They were dense and chewy. Not at all like the beignets I remember from previous visits to New Orleans. They were nothing special.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RabidVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morning Call also viewed

 

Been to Morning Call? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing