We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beignets”
Review of Morning Call

Morning Call
Ranked #1 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Metairie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beignets”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

It's pretty hard to mess up donuts and coffee. I loved the 24 hour service and the lack of lines that you find at the competing beignet place.

Helpful?
Thank rrupp1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    83
    22
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My family and I visited Morning Call last week for the first time. I was excited to introduce my nephew to beignets. I generally go to Cafe Du Monde when in the area but having read the reviews we decided to try both places on this trip. The location was good. The service and dining area were fine. Unfortunately the beignets were not what I expected. They were dense and chewy. Not at all like the beignets I remember from previous visits to New Orleans. They were nothing special.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RabidVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“service terrible.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Get off your cell phone. The kitchen worker was moving like there was no tomorrow. The bathrooms had pee all over the toilets. They can not compare to Cafe` Du Monde. The music outside the door was entirely too loud.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Absolutely The Best Beignets”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I were in Metairie for business and she read about this coffee shop that supposedly served beignets that were rated as good as Cafe Du Monde. We I resisted saying I knew they couldn’t be that good.

On our second day in Metairie my wife insisted that we try Morning Call as it was only about a mile from our hotel. We found the shop, and I was still unsure because there were not crowds standing around.

We went inside and were immediately seated and our order taken. Coffee Au Lait was quickly delivered and in short order the beignets arrived hot just out of the oil. It was a bit different than I was used to in that the beignets come without powdered sugar on them. However there is a shaker of powdered sugar on each table and you can put as much or as little as you desire.

I have been eating beignets in the New Orleans area since 1966 when I was stationed in the Air Force there and I have never has any that were as good as these. Just to make sure we went back every day we were in the area and my opinion is still the same – They are the Best!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beignets”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stopped in for our second breakfast of the day and so glad we did. The beignets were fresh out the kitchen, still steaming. They arrive plain with poedered sugar shakers on the table, unlike Cafe du monde which are packaged in powdered sugar. It really lets you taste the homemade dough. They were light and fluffy on the inside with a good crispness outside from the frying. I like coffee with my beignets so I ordered one. I didn't pay attention to the menu and didn't realize they put milk in it already. If you don't like it like that ask for no milk. The place itself is the corner spot of a shopping center, easily missed if not really paying attention. The decor is an anachronism all its own. Its definitley old New Orleans style, with its wooden paneled mirror walls, wood spinning stools, tiny white hexagonal tiled floor, and huge metal lighted archway separating two sides of a granite countertop. It had an atmosphere that made you want to sit around and gossip about the historic stories of the city. A place where people catch a few laughs before heading out to work. Three of us split two orders of beignets, two coffees, and a chocolate milk for under $10.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hav13Bag2Trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morning Call also viewed

 

Been to Morning Call? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing