We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best charbroiled oysters ever”

Drago's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 513 Restaurants in Metairie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Home of the Original Charbroiled Oyster!
Defiance, Missouri, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best charbroiled oysters ever”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Cannot say enough about the fun atmosphere and delicious fresh seafood. Redfish stuffed with crabmeat and a lobster salad, of course after an amazing, dozen, tender charbroiled oysters

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    199
    74
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Really great food”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Drago's is great Seafood, and the amazing garlic butter they baste their seafood with has made it around the corner to Drago's FireHouse Burgers. My 16yr old son devoured the Grilled Cheese burger with smoky BBQ sauce on it. My daughter and I split a burger. The garlic fries were enough for all three of us. A friend didn't like it bc it was "greasy"...I guess she didn't get the garlic-butter-basted-flame-grilled memo. It was as promised, and it was delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ryeholts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Should be a national treasure!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Being locals in New Orleans you see a lot of restaurants come and go. You see trends that also fade fast. But Drago's is one of the special places in New Orleans. It's the place that locals go when they want the best seafood and the original char-broiled oysters! We always take out of town guests to enjoy a dinner at Drago's. It is great food, always good service and a warm friendly family atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SycamoreDrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Cajun Food”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

After picking up my friend at the airport in New Orleans. We had time for lunch before we headed north to a silent retreat for men. My wife suggested this restaurant from a past experience. She nailed it. Although it had been sometime since she had visited there, her description and great experience is still valid. Of course there are many versions of what good cajun seafood can be. Drago's certainly has their own versions. My friend and I had a wonderful and charming waitress. The food was great. One of the new trends that I beginning to notice is that your credit card never leaves the table here. The transaction is done in your presence. That is a nice touch in saving time and security of your card as well. There are two Drago's in New Orleans. This one is easiest to get to from the airport. I had the Shrimp and Grits, my friend had the Boudin Stuffed Shrimp. Outstanding lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hogtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Grilled Oysters”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

The Grilled oysters are fantastic!!!!other food is good also-- service was pretty bad last time we were there, but manager came over twice and apologized-- easy to get to from I-10

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drago's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Drago's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing