We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Eat”

Drago's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 516 Restaurants in Metairie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Home of the Original Charbroiled Oyster!
Quitman, Arkansas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Eat”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Even though it was busy, they got us a table very quickly. The grilled oysters were awesome. And the lobster salad was so good. Service was exceptional and we were very pleased with this restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beverly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    201
    75
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Oysters”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The famous oysters were to die for! I would highly recommend anyone visiting the area not leave without eating here.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mdm0622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Excellent Char Broiled Oysters”
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Friendly servers. A place frequented by locals. Char broiled oysters are the best in New Orleans. Owner is a real gentleman.

Helpful?
Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“We will be back for more charbroiled oysters”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was our first visit to Drago's in Metairie and it won't be our last. Excellent food and excellent service. Parking is hard to come by in the area so get there a bit early for lunch.

Their charbroiled oysters are tops. Excellent seafood gumbo, fried crab claws, and shrimp remoulade. Their desserts are good too.

I tend to judge a restaurant's cleanliness by its restrooms. Drago's restrooms were so clean you could eat off the floor!

From the outside the building doesn't look real spiffy. Once inside the door it's a different world. Nicely decorated. Uniformed wait staff. Everyone courteous and helpful.

You will feel comfortable in here wearing neat jeans, khakis, golf shorts, or even coat and tie at lunch. I would not wear cutoffs and flip flops in here though. Don't know what the attire is at night.

As I said, "We will go back and often."

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoastalDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenner, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Oyster- Mouth watering”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We recently went to dinner with friends at Drago's in Metairie. The raw oysters were salty and the Char-broiled were out of this world. We always have great meals at Drago's. They have a live lobster tank that you may select your dinner and have it prepared- some went as much as 8 lbs.
Service and friendly atmosphere is what we have come to be accustomed to here at Drago's.
There are other restaurants that claim to have char-broil oysters but don't waste your time or money. Come to the original!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drago's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Drago's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing