We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal! Great people!”

Drago's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 510 Restaurants in Metairie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Home of the Original Charbroiled Oyster!
dekalb,il
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great meal! Great people!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The food here is excellent. We were here for lunch and of course had the broiled oysters. This is our 3rd or 4th visit here and we have never been disappointed. The attention from all the staff including the owners is top rate. Our server Kyle was so attentive and nice. We will always return here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reidsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    196
    73
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Always a great choice”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

I ate here last night with a coworker. I had crab claws and the grilled drum. The food was excellent although I did not care for the crabmeat stuffing that was served with the fish. The service was better than usual at this location. I definitely recommend Drago's.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank firemshll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazoria, TX
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Chargrilled Oysters - Wow!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had to try this Drago's chargrilled oysters, after having had them at Drago's in New Orleans, which was a disappointment. The ones in New Orleans were small (more the size of a clam), dry, and burnt. These however, were delicious. Large, cooked perfectly, and full of flavor. They alone are worth the trip.
I also had a shrimp fondue, which is an appetizer. Delicious, and oh so filling.
Drago's has a large grill in the restaurant area so you can see the cooking action. Pretty impressive. But you'll get an idea of what's going on from the parking lot. The smoke from the grill fills the area, and you get hungry before you even enter the building. Be prepared to wait, this is a popular place to eat. Also note that parking is a problem. You may have to park somewhere down the block.
On a negative note, I thought the oysters had too many bits of shell in them. Be careful when you bite into it. Watching them prepare the oysters revealed why. They first would hit the whole oyster with a hammer, before opening the halves. I guess that makes it easier to shuck the oyster, but it did cause bits of shell and whatever is on the shell, to fly off. They then stack oysters on a tray, which is in front of where they are hammering the shells. They will even stack one tray on top of another tray, which has opened oysters on it, thus whatever is on the bottom of the top tray can be transferred to the opened oysters on the tray beneath it. As all those shell chips are flying, no doubt some land on a fresh opened oyster. So chew carefully.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scubaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great meal experience”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

It is always a place to have a great meal. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I had the grilled oysters (yum), the stuffed lobster. The stuffing was full of crab meat and the lobster was cooked perfectly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BC_NOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Love the chargrilled oysters!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I always bring out of town visitors to Drago's. I don't even look at the menu. Start with gumbo (either kind) and then a dozen chargrilled oysters. To die for!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ebrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drago's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Drago's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing