We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catered Picnic”
Review of Martin Wine Cellar

Martin Wine Cellar
Ranked #47 of 510 Restaurants in Metairie
Restaurant details
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
211 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Catered Picnic”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Martin Wine Cellar has always been a great place to find the lesser imported vintages of good wines and hard to find gourmet items. Many years ago, before they opened this Metairie store they began making baskets and serving food from their deli. This Father's day we decided to break our typical pattern and had them cater a picnic for us - Apricot tea, finger sandwiches, strawberry and cream cheese tea sandwiches, Thai Chicken Satay skewers with peanut sauce, and an assortment of cheese cakes and brownies rounded out the meal. Our picnic was marvelous.

During the week they have reasonably priced wine tastings as well as other events. Its worth it to stop in anytime to roam the aisles and try some wines by the glass.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grendyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    30
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
588 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Great place for a sandwich and a glass of wine.”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I are visiting New Orleans, staying in Metairie and wanted a light meal for dinner between two scheduled dinners at Emeril's and Commander's Palace. From recommendations on Trip Advisor, we went to Martin Wine Cellar, shared their steamboat sandwich and smoked salmon BLT sandwich and each of us had a glass of a French Sauvignon Blanc. The food and wine were very good but unfortunately they close at 8 PM and since we arrived there at 7:30 PM, we felt somewhat rushed even though the staff were very accommodating to us.

After spending close to $10 per glass for wine at the upscale restaurants that we have been to on our trip, it was most refreshing to pay only $5 per glass for a wine at Martin's and their wine by the glass selection was reasonably extensive.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stucolco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, LA
Level Contributor
229 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great chicken salad sandwich”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

I simply love the chicken salad sandwich on 7 grain bread. Add tomato and lettuce. Chicken salad is house made and delicious.

Helpful?
Thank travelingcircus38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
745 reviews
410 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Great place to order lunch!”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

One of the places I work at always order lunch from this place and the food and the service is excellent. They have a wide menu to choose from for delivery and they are always prompt and on time for delivery. I would suggest getting the seasoned french fries from this place. They have some of the best seasoned french fries that I have ever tasted.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RahulMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wine & more”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This restaurant is primarily a wine store with a great variety of wine with staff available with knowledgable consultation. Not only wine but cheese, pâté prosciutto and more. The food is a bonus and surprisingly good

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Twinka55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martin Wine Cellar also viewed

 

Been to Martin Wine Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing