We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't wear a black shirt”
Review of Cafe Du Monde

Cafe Du Monde
Ranked #9 of 516 Restaurants in Metairie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: it is a new restaurant
Restaurant details
Description: it is a new restaurant
Kirkland, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Don't wear a black shirt”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time eating beignets. I wasn't sure what to expect but the beignets were very good. My dad had a black t-shirt which wasn't a great idea but it made for some funny pictures.
I wonder how much powdered sugar they go through in one day.....haha.
We ordered 2 orders of beignets and chocolate milk which made for a good breakfast.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank wrigley1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    50
    18
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“"Just As Good"”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

First time visitors to New Orleans should definitely visit the French Quarter location. The experience is quite nice. However, if you simply want coffee please try the Metairie location. The Cafe au Lait and beignets are exactly the same in Metairie as they are at the French Quarter location minus, the walking, looking for parking and the possibility of having to wait for a table.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed the beignets, so fresh and good. The cafe au lait was a perfect mix of steamed milk and chicory coffee. What a New Orleans staple, loved it.

Helpful?
Thank Carebear2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Just as good as Original”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This place has everything that the famous Cafe du Monde in the French Quarter has except the charm. The beignets are just as good as is the coffee and other drinks you may want. I usually go for the frozen Cafe au Lait, which is great at both places.

As I said, the only thing missing is the charm and history of the original place in the French Quarter. With that being said, this place is easier to get to if you are not in the Quarter and out and about on Veterans Blvd.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RovingProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Soooo...I've been wanting to go to Café Du Monde for MONTHS! Got there and it definitely wasn't what I thought it would/should be. I went to the location on Veteran's in New Orleans. It was good, but I expected better. Guess when I return next month I'll be going to the one in Downtown New Orleans...the original.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe Du Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing