We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent place to stay with very good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Metairie
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Metairie
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in December. The Hotel itself is located weirdly off of a ramp to Highway 10. Getting there at night can be tricky but most GPS should be able to negotiate the turns correctly to take you there.
The Hotel staff service was quite courteous and helpful and checking in was a breeze. The room cleaning service was found wanting though. We found that the room cleaning was perfunctory and lacking in effort on a couple of occasions.
The breakfast was quite adequate. Although it was supposed to be a hot breakfast on most days we found bacon and sausage added to the hot items (scrambled eggs or prepared omlettes). Being vegetarians we just avoided them.
The front desk would willingly provide bottled water when requested daily.
Its location is somewhere squarely between downtown New Orleans and the Airport. There is a mall just a couple of blocks away although getting to it can be a bit arduous due to construction on street.
There are number of places to eat on Veterans blvd., within driving distances of 2-3 miles.
The location is quite safe for families to stay and I would recommend it as a no frills basic Hotel to stay any time.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the freeway on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sakraghu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 579 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

I was staying in Hampton Inn on a business trip to New Orleans. The hotel is located half way between airport and city right off I-10. The hotel is standard reliable Hampton Inn with a typical reliable Hampton Inn service. The hotel is located next to elevated hotel, but I did not have any noise problem - my room was facing pool. The room had two bed and was clean and everything was working.
Pros: - Clean good hotel. Reception desk was helpfull and friendly.
Cons: - internet was at standstill - Youtube could not load.

Location - at the begining its looked very strange and difficult to get to the hotel - maybe because of road construction, but at the second return late in the evening it was very easy. There are major shoping mall about 1.5 blocks away (Macy's). Few good chain restaurants - Outback and TGIF -just 2 blocks away. Whole Food is 2 blocks away. There are many restaurants on Veterans Hwy - just around corner. Its took me about 15 minutes drive to get to French Quaters in downtown around 7pm in the evening. Airport 15 minutes away from car rental lot.

The location maybe not great if you on vacation to see New Orleans or your business is in downtown, but if none of these apply to your trip - this is very normal location and good place to sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VSPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel service is very good but the location of the Hampton Inn can be difficult to find or get to if not familiar with area. It is right off the highway and service road. The rooms are typical and the breakfast is your typical fare. I did not hear the highway from room but not sure how it would be if you were near the front/side.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This is your standard Hampton....clean, great service, nice breakfast. Internet was slow. At first the location seems a bit scary but after driving around it was a fine location. Easy to get the FQ, airport, and the mall and restaurants in Metairia. Staff was great we were using the pull out couch on our second night I requested they vacuum the couch and put on fresh linens which they did as requested. Only real issues is the housekeeping staff seemed to be bad at making sure the alarms were turned off in vacant rooms. I had to call the front desk twice during my stay to have them turn the alarms off and one of those times was at 3:30am. And I heard two other people asking about unattended alarms :) seems they should add " check alarms " to their checklist.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkier1472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel is right ON the interstate and I slept in a room on the interstate side but it was nice and quiet. The was very clean and comfortable. The usual great Hampton clean bed and good breakfast. Also the parking garage was easy to access the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annet108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have stayed at this property twice. Not impressed with either visit. The room was pretty standard fare for Hampton with the exception of not having a fridge or microwave in the room. Staff at reception was average and did not blow me away with customer service. Just seemed like they were going through the motions....checking in, checking out. This property charges an average
rate for the area, but without a whole lot of perks. I'll stay here again as the rooms are clean, relatively quiet and the property is close to where my business is in Baton Rouge.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pslandry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The servoce and room readiness was great. They provided prompt shuttle service from airport to hotel. Hotel people were friendly and helpful. Business center has convenient to use. The pool was not so claen, many debris in the pool. Overall, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chialing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Metairie hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Metairie (New Orleans)
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Metairie New Orleans
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn New Orleans Metairie
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 23 in Metairie
570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard New Orleans Metairie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Metairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Metairie

Address: 2730 N Causeway Blvd, Metairie, LA 70002-6030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Metairie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Metairie
#3 Romantic Hotel in Metairie
#5 Business Hotel in Metairie
Price Range: $121 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Metairie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the warmth of Southern hospitality in Metairie. Enjoy easy access to downtown New Orleans and Louis Armstrong International Airport from the Hampton Inn Metairie hotel. We offer a 24-hour complimentary shuttle to the airport, a twice daily shuttle to downtown New Orleans, and a local shuttle to any Metairie business, restaurant or attraction within a three-mile radius of the hotel. Walk just a couple of blocks for fabulous shopping at the Lakeside Mall, head downtown to visit the historic French Quarter with its historic architecture, bustling bars, and famous restaurants, catch a game at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome or take the kids to the Audubon Zoo, Aquarium and Insectarium. Our Metairie hotel offers a convenient and comfortable base with all you need for work and relaxation delivered with a personal touch. Settle in to a cozy guest room with free high-speed internet access, a clean and fresh Hampton bed(R), complete with refrigerator and microwave. Set up for your day with Hampton's complimentary hot breakfast or on busy weekdays grab one of our complimentary Hampton On the Run(R) Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Keep in touch at the business center and hold a meeting for up to 25 guests in our meeting room. Have fun with the family at the outdoor pool or keep on top of your exercise regime at the fitness center. Sample New Orleans-style cuisine at our Manager's Reception, available Monday to Thursday, and enjoy delicious cookies each afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Metairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Metairie Hotel Metairie
Metairie Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing