We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food!”

Restaurant des Familles
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant des Familles is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 68 Restaurants in Marrero
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bayou des Familles, a lazy waterway home to many alligators, turtles, egrets and other wildlife, takes center stage as our restaurant's design provides its diners with a natural picture show. It's in this setting where friends and family unite to experience southern Louisiana charm and culture in its finest form. It's an experience your friends and family will not soon forget. The 17-mile journey from downtown New Orleans will take you through the Jean Lafitte National Park. You'll arrive at Restaurant des Familles and park under moss-filled century old oak trees. The restaurant's Acadian-style architecture provides a glimpse of bayou life that once was. Our menu features authentic representations of Cajun and Creole favorites such as Crawfish Etouffee, Seafood & Okra Gumbo, Grilled Redfish and Turtle Soup. Our signature dish, Alligator Stuffed Mushrooms with Alligator Sauce Piquant will tempt even the most timid diner. We look forward to your visit.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really good food!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

After a Swamp Boat ride at Jean Lafitte's just around the corner, we chose this place because it was close. what a good find!! There is a Champagne Brunch that includes 5 courses and we thoroughly enjoyed sampling many items. The food was MUCH better than what we experienced in Downtown NOLA. Lovely setting and attentive and cheerful staff. Redfish Courtbouillon, Turtle soup with Sherry, and house salad with a lovely dressing began the meal. My soft shell crabs with crawfish were excellent. My dessert was a slice of Red Velvet Cake. YUM! If I lived here, I would be back at least once a week!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dqcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    43
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A tip from an airboat guide”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were in New Orleans for the weekend and did an airboat tour. We asked our guide where locals went for oysters and crab. He said that New Orleans proper got the best oysters, but Des Familles had the crab that everyone around enjoyed. He specifically mentioned "Crab Boulettes." This was our last day in the area and we were pretty well "dined out," as can be imagined. We thought we'd give this restaurant a shot.

We thought from the description that this was a rustic local restaurant, but it turned out to be a beautiful modern place with tables overlooking the bayou. Since this was Sunday, the Champagne Brunch was available and one of our party indulged. The rest of us ordered from the menu which was chock full of Cajun specialties...fish, crab, rice...and a small section of the menu devoted to beef and chicken, which we ignored.

We found the food to be uniformly good to excellent, the service to be fine, and the setting beautiful. We were there in the early afternoon, not at the normal lunch hour, so we don't know how it would be when crowded, but our experience was great.

The airboat guide said he generally made a meal of the appetizer crab boulettes and some fries. It turns out that would have been an excellent idea. The boulettes are crispy, tasty and numerous enough to make a great lunch. Members of our group tried almost all the crab specialties...softshell, crabcake, pasta...everything on the menu and everything was wonderful.

The Champagne Brunch is a terrific deal, with many menu items plus appetizers, soup. salad and dessert for a very good price. And..all the champagne you can hold. It isn't wonderful champagne, but it isn't awful either. If you're there on a Sunday, it's well worth a try.

I have a weakness for fried catfish and I tried the catfish on the menu. When the dish appeared I saw that they were "fingers," not the whole fish. I was initially disappointed, but found that the light and delicate crust and a nice spicy (but not overbearing) tang made the dish worthwhile.

There are several redfish dishes on the menu..a fish that we don't see much in Atlanta, but we didn't try them. There are several combination plates along with etouffee (great) and jambalaya. We can attest that the turtle soup is fine as well.

There were six of us in our group so we tried and shared a good selection of the available dishes and none were disappointing in the slightest. This is a good restaurant in a fine setting with pleasant and prompt service. We would certainly recommend a visit if you're in the area. It's a bit of a hike from New Orleans proper...maybe 30 - 40 minutes, but the trip may just be worth it, especially if you're interested in the surroundings. All in all, a very good experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OldGuyPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Young Harris, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“classy restaurant with the view of the swamp!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our only problem was our own fault - we had a swamp tour planned & we had to cut our time short at the restaurant. Our waitress, Tabitha, was amenable & expedited our orders so that we were able to get our meals & pay our bill & be on our way. It was Sunday when we visited & we could have sat & enjoyed brunch but our tour reservation didn't allow. Our guide at the swamp tour said he often orders to-go & takes it home to eat after he gets off work. I can understand why. We were all quite happy with our meals.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3catstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vitri
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food, nice decor”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

A few minutes drive away from the Swamp Tours, the Restaurant des Familles was well worth the trip. The food was great and the staff very friendly. If you go, take a few more minutes to drive to the National Reserve to take a quick walk in the bayous. You might need the exercice after chugging down your Po'Boys.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vitri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restaurant to visit after a day at Barataria Preserve”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Each time we visit New Orleans we rent a car and drive the twenty miles to the Barataria Preserve, a part of the Jean Lafitte National Park. Each time we visit it is a different experience because of the season, the water level, etc. Always worth the trip to us.

Next time you pay federal income taxes remember this is one of the many parks we own in common through our taxes. The Jean Lafitte is just amazing in it's scope and would not exist without all of us chipping in to keep it available. One of our Southern treasures....and I am from the North!

We ended our walk around one in the afternoon and wanted to have something to eat before heading back into the city. The ranger suggested des Families and we gave it a try.

Considering the location this is a big restaurant. We could picture the place filled with locals on a Friday and Saturday night. It has enough local color in the decor without going overboard and getting too kitchy.

Very friendly and inviting. I read a bit of the other reviews. I must admit there was this young pretty woman,blonde, very prep, and I am thinking wow! she is like so preppy looking? Harvard, UofP, Brown....it took a lot of discipline not to talk to her and find out her story. I mean how did this preppy woman wind up in this restaurant. Now I don't know, but the other reviews mention a perosn at this restaurant named Brooke. Coincidence? Same person?
Kicking myself for not engaging her in conversation and sharing our stories.

Our cordial wait person was Kristi. She helped guide us through our late lunch choices.

We had a bright table looking out upon a swamp area which possibly held a gator or two.

I had a half shrimp dressed Po Boy which hit the spot. A lighter roll I have never had and the shrimp was done to perfection. I n Philly we always say the hoagies and cheese steaks are as good as the roll and it is just as true with a Po Boy. Along with the half Po boy was a cup of crab seafood gumbo. Wow! that was pretty good. Great crab taste, too many shell pieces having me to be very careful. But good and worth the effort.

Can't wait to try and put a similar gumbo together with Jersey Hardshell Blue Crabs.

Turtle soup was good and filled with snapper. Being used to Maryland Crab Cake it is a transition to get used to New Orleans style. Lots of crabmeat, good crabmeat taste, just a different texture.

Bayou stack was outstanding with layers of shrimp, crabmeat, tomato, greens, egg.

Four of us had more food then we could handle along with sweet tea, and coffee.

This was a lucky find for us. You, on the other hand can plan with some assurance you will eat well at a reasonable price.
The four of us had a terrific late lunch for eighty one dollars including tax or $20.25 per person.

For what we received we felt it was very reasonable. And you have to appreciate, what you are being served is very local food. It is not flown in but dropped off at the door from the local seafoodman/woman from their morning catch on the bayou.

How Lucky are We

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank h2oworks2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant des Familles also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant des Familles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing