We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lake front resort, not quite worth resort pricing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cypress Bend Resort, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Many
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake front resort, not quite worth resort pricing”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This property is on Toledo Bend lake which is on the boarder of Louisiana and Texas. The views and property are beautiful.

Rooms:
We stayed in a balcony room, there are four of them on the property at each corner of the building. The balcony was nice, and should have had a nice view of the 18th green, but there was a tree in need of trimming blocking 60% of the view. The room was large and normally appointed, bed was comfortable and the flat screen tv had good picture. When it came time for a shower, we could not get hot water. waited approximately 3 minutes for the water to turn hot and then called the front desk. Maintenance called back shortly to let us know that we were the last room, furthest away from the water heater and just to let it run until it turned hot. This took almost 10 minutes. Overall this was the only issue with the room though.

Golf:
The course is nice and seemed to be in good shape, though flooding rains the day before we arrived made it difficult for me to tell for sure. Because of the rains, the maintenance crew was out in full force. To members of the crew were pumping water out of the sand traps and they were not paying attention to when we were on the tee box, and the one time I was on a green the same time they were they turned off the pump but then talked during my putts. I spoke with the pro after the round and he apologized.

Dining:
The dining room was nice, but old. Breakfast was great, service was decent. Dinner Saturday night was seafood buffet. All fried food and cocktail shrimp. The food on the buffet was cold, they microwaved it for me. Dinner was over $60 and I thought it was about the same quality as a cafeteria like Luby's. Lunches were in the cafe at the pro shop. Food was average, pretty typical for a golf course snack bar. We also ate dinner in the bar one night. The food was again just good. It gave both of us upset stomach later that night. One bright spot was the service in the bar. The two bar tenders were great and very friendly.

Spa:
Unless you REALLY need a massage, I would not bother. Resort pricing, even higher than the nice places in Dallas. Not a great massage. My wife got a facial, she said it was just ok. I also got a reflexology service. It was really good. Basically this resort is in the middle of nowhere and the talent pool is not great.

We had a great time. the resort grounds are beautiful. The people are nice, but fail to provide an actual resort experience.

They either need to lower the rates or dramatically improve the service and food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Public Relations Manager at Cypress Bend Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review and tell us about your stay. It is always our mission to ensure every guest has a positive, memorable experience and I am sorry to hear we fell short in this instance. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. We are grateful for your business and we look forward to serving you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    74
    22
    11
    20
See reviews for
59
82
6
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We just got back for a one-night stay during a weekend conference. The hotel staff were very nice and helpful during the reservation and check-in processes. Our room was large, but poorly decorated with plaid carpet, floral drapes, paisley bedspread. The mattress was awful--the bed did not look square even made up. The room and bath were clean but not spotless by any means. The towels were thin and worn. There was mold in the tub grout.

The bar staff were friend and the service was good. The catering for the conference events was inconsistent. The evening meal was good. The conference breakfast and snacks were just average. The catering staff for the evening meal was excellent. The catering staff for breakfast and snacks were unfriendly and did not accommodate the guests/attendees. The meeting rooms had a funny smell.

Overall, the service that was good was very good. The service that was bad was very bad. The property is a beautiful setting, but the guest rooms are in need of renovation. Would not stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank PattyH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Public Relations Manager at Cypress Bend Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We do apologize for your underwhelming experience. We have reviewed your feedback with our team in order to properly have this addressed. We do hope you allow us another opportunity to provide you with a great experience which we know you will have should you choose to return. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I came from out of town to attend a friends wedding this weekend. We arrived to the bar at 10 pm with about 15 people with us. When we booked the room they said the bar closed at midnight then when we talked again they said 11. So about 20mins after arriving the bar tender came out and said last call. Being from out of town and never getting to see any body as often as we like we were wanting to play pool and visit. I can understand closing a bar early if no body is in the bar but we had 15 people with us plus another 10 or so that was not with our group. After the bride, who's mother paid for the wedding party to stay at the hotel, spoke with a manger whom said he would close the bar when he got ready. It wasn't like we were not spending money at the bar, nor were we being loud and unruly. The next morning we spoke to the owner whom said he would give us a discount on our next stay, well the bride lives in town and why would we wanna come stay again, we have no reason to stay again. The best thing I can say is the one drink I did get to have was good, strong, but good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn_Pinkston, Manager at Cypress Bend Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
I apologize for the issues that you and your group experienced in the Social Room. We want our guests to have the best experience while they are here, in your case we fell short of your expectations and we truly apologize for that.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the issues that you had while here, we have addressed them with the appropriate staff members.

If you do decide to give Cypress Bend Resort another try, which we hope you do, please contact me directly so that I can personally take care of you.

Sincerely,

Evelyn L. Pinkston
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Golf Suite and found the accommodations nice. The package we had included an adjoining living area/kitchen between the 2 bedrooms. There 2 Full size beds in each bedroom which is fine for a golf group of 4 or a small family. I think television in the Living area should be larger for watching sporting events such as football or golf.

The golf staff is incredibly good and made us feel special. They went out of their way to make sure that our golf experience was one of the best ever. The course is challenging and fair. We all enjoyed the view of the Lake as we came around the back nine. The weather was perfect during the first week of October. We couldn't have had a better time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Public Relations Manager at Cypress Bend Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing to stay as our Guest and for taking the time to write such a nice review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Very pleased with our first stay at Cypress Bend. I loved the golf course as it was challenging and in great condition. My fiancé had nothing but good things to say about the spa and the massage she received. The lounge/bar provided a decent environment to watch the LSU game. Our spur of the moment weekend getaway turned out to be a winner! We will be back.

I have to commend the staff on their professionalism. There was a slight mix up with one of the packages that we ordered and they did everything in their power to ensure that it was corrected.

Only complaint was the slow play on the course. It took well over 4 hours for me to play 18.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Public Relations Manager at Cypress Bend Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review and for allowing us to host you for your staycation. We hope to be your hotel of choice when you plan your next getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumelle, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

4 Friends took a golf trip to Cypress Bend Golf Resort and could not have been more pleased. The golf staff was absolutely wonderful! Very friendly and informative. The golf course was in great shape and the views of the lake are unbelievable!! It was a quick trip arriving on Saturday around noon and playing at 1pm, spending the night and playing again early Sunday morning and then leaving. After staying that night, it would have been great to stay another few days. We will definitely make this a yearly event and can't wait till next year already!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Public Relations Manager at Cypress Bend Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for letting us know that we exceeded your expectations! We appreciate you staying with us and we look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge7
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Toledo Bend Area is peacefully beautiful. This is an awesome place to retreat, a sorta do nothing place-unless you golf or fish then you are in heaven! The hotel, although older, is very well manicured, the staff was very friendly and always helpful (especially Hayden); the restaurant food - not to shabby, but expected more because in Louisiana. Don't expect much for housekeeping service-you are pretty much on your own! Shout out to Devon at the Spa! Best massage in 20 years!! We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling4Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Public Relations Manager at Cypress Bend Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your excellent experience with others. We are grateful for your business and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Many
15.6 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#4 of 5 in Many
25 reviews
15.7 mi away
American Inn Motel
American Inn Motel
#5 of 5 in Many
28 reviews
5.6 mi away
Harborlight Marina and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Bend Resort, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Bend Resort, BW Premier Collection

Property: Cypress Bend Resort, BW Premier Collection
Address: 2000 Cypress Bend Pkwy, Many, LA 71449-7932 (Formerly Cypress Bend Resort, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Many
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Many
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress Bend Resort, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Cypress Bend Resort, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Bend Golf Hotel Many
Cypress Bend Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing