We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right at Home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mandeville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marvilla Guest House
Ranked #1 of 6 Mandeville B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were lucky and stayed in the room with the back porch deck. It was so nice and private. The room also had a large tub for relaxing bubble baths . Everyone was so helpful and friendly. i also fell in love with their cat,
The guest house is located in the old historic area and within walking or biking distance to restaurants, bars, and shops. If you are going to Mandeville, you gotta check this place out. Also, there's a porch swing outside the front door!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Marvilla Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 46 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We found Marvilla Guest House by way of great reviews via a B & B website. After arriving it was discovered there was no breakfast served in the morning. All said, it was a fantastic place to chill for the weekend. It's an easy two blocks to the lake especially with bikes supplied by the guest house. Fab neighborhood, excellent accommodations, easy parking, close to great food sources made this place a wonderful choice. We ate breakfast at N'Tini's on Hwy 22 across from Walgreens. We highly recommend a stay if you're ever in the area and plan to stay here again if the need arises.

Room Tip: Nuvolari's a few blocks away is one of the many great eateries in the neighborhood.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My 2 children and I were on vacation and when I saw the guest house online I knew I had to stay there. It was quite and in such a great neighborhood. We walked down to the Beach House bar & grill for dinner and it was very good. Then we went on to the lake which is only about a block away and walked around. Nice peaceful and amazing area. Would be great for a couples getaway. The room was nice and lots of privacy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Love this place. Owner is most helpful with all the local restaurants and local events. If you are lucky once in awhile Michael, the owner will bring out his guitar and sing. Very close to the mandeville trailhead which has anto excellent cycling and running trail. Beautiful sunsets on lake ponchatrain. Great vacation or weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie_and_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We just stayed at Marvilla last night, and it was a perfect lakeside retreat- I called ahead because we were running late and weren't going to arrive before 11pm and Michael replied with, " No problem....are you beer drinkers or wine drinkers?" and when we arrived there was a bottle of wine, a corkscrew and two glasses waiting for us! The room was very comfortable and well made with a balcony on each side and a beautiful, deep tub in the bathroom. It had the feel of a very clean and stylish lake cabin complete with lakeside view!!! We stayed there the night before we flew home from a driving trip from NOLA up into Mississippi and back, and we didn't want to stay at an Airport hotel- we made it to the airport in about 40 minutes during morning rush hour, with the added delight of driving across the Lake Ponchartrain causeway! This place is a laid back, lakeside delight- we only wish we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ancynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Husband and I were attending a party at the Lake house (around the block). Marvilla was beautifully appointed, very becoming of the area and so conveniantly located for brunch at the Broken Egg and a German snack at the nearby brewhouse (Barley Oat?). The common area porch had a swing and chairs to sit and read some of the magazines kept there. However, the room was cooled by a window unit, something my allergies do not forgive me for. But for that, we would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Room 1 had a jucuzzi tub that doubled as a shower. It also had a mini-fridge and a coffee pot.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience at the Marvilla in old Mandeville. Mike is a great caretaker of his property along with being very hospitable. I'd recomend a visit for anyone looking to take a step back to a beautiful place right out of page in an old Louisiana history book...

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smallupsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandeville
4.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 1 in Mandeville
97 reviews
5.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA
8.5 mi away
Southern Hotel
Southern Hotel
#2 of 16 in Covington
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Covington/Mandeville
6.1 mi away
Courtyard New Orleans Covington/Mandeville
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Covington Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marvilla Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marvilla Guest House

Address: 2013 Claiborne Street, Mandeville, LA 70448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Mandeville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mandeville
Price Range: $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing