We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect lake house vibe”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mandeville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marvilla Guest House
Ranked #1 of 6 Mandeville B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect lake house vibe”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We just stayed at Marvilla last night, and it was a perfect lakeside retreat- I called ahead because we were running late and weren't going to arrive before 11pm and Michael replied with, " No problem....are you beer drinkers or wine drinkers?" and when we arrived there was a bottle of wine, a corkscrew and two glasses waiting for us! The room was very comfortable and well made with a balcony on each side and a beautiful, deep tub in the bathroom. It had the feel of a very clean and stylish lake cabin complete with lakeside view!!! We stayed there the night before we flew home from a driving trip from NOLA up into Mississippi and back, and we didn't want to stay at an Airport hotel- we made it to the airport in about 40 minutes during morning rush hour, with the added delight of driving across the Lake Ponchartrain causeway! This place is a laid back, lakeside delight- we only wish we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ancynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Husband and I were attending a party at the Lake house (around the block). Marvilla was beautifully appointed, very becoming of the area and so conveniantly located for brunch at the Broken Egg and a German snack at the nearby brewhouse (Barley Oat?). The common area porch had a swing and chairs to sit and read some of the magazines kept there. However, the room was cooled by a window unit, something my allergies do not forgive me for. But for that, we would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Room 1 had a jucuzzi tub that doubled as a shower. It also had a mini-fridge and a coffee pot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience at the Marvilla in old Mandeville. Mike is a great caretaker of his property along with being very hospitable. I'd recomend a visit for anyone looking to take a step back to a beautiful place right out of page in an old Louisiana history book...

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smallupsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Marvilla is a unique and beautifully restored small inn in a delightful neighborhood. Being our first visit to this area we didn't know what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised. Marvilla is close to the lakefront, several nice restaurants and the Tammany Trace. We wished we had time to take advantage of the available bikes, but defintely enjoyed all the walking opportunities. We loved breakfast next door at the Broken Egg too!

I would say the Marvilla is probably best suited for the independent traveler that enjoys the unique. The owners were very friendly and helpful but this isn't a place where staff is available at all times. Our room was large and comfortable with a private balcony and a shared porch which we enjoyed. I did miss having a shower but the other features made it a fine trade-off.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PSapphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Staying here was a unique and memorable experience. On the north shore of Lake Ponchartrain, Old Mandeville is a semi-undiscovered travel treasure, with its historic homes and lakefront. The friendly owner deserves a medal for restoring this historic cottage, with TLC touches such as a wood heart inlaid into the cypress plank floor. Bicycles are available for peddling around town or on the Tammany Trail. We stayed in room 3, which has its own private balcony and a bathroom with clawfoot tub, The courtyard has a luxuriant assortment of palms, angels trumpet vines, and other subtropical vegetation which add to the Caribbean flavor.
Keep in mind that this is a restored historic building, and may not meet some of the lodging standards of an upscale chain hotel. The windows have curtains but not blackout shades. Birds in the nearby trees start singing at an early hour, which may also cut into your sleeping time.
But if you are ready to be flexible and to have a unique and memorable experience, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask about the weekday discount. Room 3 has a private balcony and clawfoot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arbornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Comfortable inn two blocks from Lake Pontchartrain in historic old Mandeville village. Pleasant rooms and wonderful galleries provide enchanting views of the Deep South surroundings. Restaurants, bars and breakfast spots are all within walking distance. If you are coming from the south shore you don't need to go through St. Tammany's suburban sprawl, take either of the first exits off the causeway to be deposited into the unspoiled old north shore.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benbenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We came to Mandeville because we had heard about the Tammany Trace Rails to Trails Project, which is a beautiful multipurpose pathway that runs through the different towns in the region. We found Marvilla Guest House and it was great. The owners are friendly and hospitable. What was really convenient for us was that the guest house had bicycles that you could use. The Tammany Trace is really lovely, and we cycled through Abita Springs to Covington, seeing the various attractions along the way. Breakfast at Broken Eggs is great, and there are several restaurants within walking distance. Mandeville is a quiet town with a feel of being far away from the busyness of New Orleans even though the big city is just an hour (or so) away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PikoVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandeville
4.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 1 in Mandeville
96 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Covington/Mandeville
8.5 mi away
Southern Hotel
Southern Hotel
#2 of 16 in Covington
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA
6.1 mi away
Courtyard New Orleans Covington/Mandeville
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Covington
Homewood Suites Covington
#9 of 16 in Covington
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marvilla Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marvilla Guest House

Property: Marvilla Guest House
Address: 2013 Claiborne Street, Mandeville, LA 70448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Mandeville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mandeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing