We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, area, food and service”

Rip's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 161 Restaurants in Mandeville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: South Louisiana Seafood cuisine
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere, area, food and service”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have chosen Rip's for two special occasions and have been very happy with them. Both times we have sat on the front porch overlooking the lake and it is beautiful. Same waiter - both times excellent. Relaxed atmosphere, but dressing nicely fits in perfectly too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    61
    24
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
95 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and great food!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience with friends on Friday evening. Located in old Mandeville in an old house over looking the lake, it is beautiful. Our table was ready when we arrived - our waitress Elizabeth (from Ireland) was delightful.
The food - from the appetizers to entrees were great. Everyone ordered something different and all looked great - we had ruby red trout, blackened fish, oysters with a shrimp stuffed potato, fried shrimp. My blackened fish entree with a basil cream sauce was terrific. The only disappointment - no ice cream for dessert ( my husband likes his ice cream). :)
We will be returning so we can sit on the porch and look at the lake in the daytime.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzieshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, LA
Level Contributor
219 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best view of Lake”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Great 2nd floor balcony with view of Lake Ponchartrain. Beautiful sunsets. Food adequate but could be better. Service fast and friendly especially at bar where you can eat and watch sports on big screen tv

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimR459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Took a nice long drive over the 23 mile Lake Ponchartrain bridge and wanted to find a quiet, quaint upscale eating place. Boy did we ever! Rip's was so perfect! Right across from the lake with indoor/outdoor dining. Our server, Clint, (props Clint woot!) was so polite and friendly! The catfish nugget appetizer was some of the best I've tasted. The portions were huge. My son ordered a seared tuna salad. I've never seen so much tuna on a salad before! I had the mahi-mahi with scallops and this AMAZING buttery lemony cream sauce! Has to ask for more sauce! Any other reviewer with bad marks on the food is crazy!! This place ROCKS!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, short wait, nice view.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Have been here a couple of times and have had the same good experience on both occasions. We arrived after 6:45 PM each visit and had to wait for a table because we wanted to sit outside with the view (which is great during that time of the day, plus you get a considerable breeze). The wait was only 15 minutes so we bellied up to the bar and chatted; noise inside was not a factor.

On our most recent visit, our waitress was rather busy and it took longer than average to take our drink and dinner order. However, once we placed our order, the food was served in reasonable time. I had the grouper with a house salad; the fillet was small to average size, the cream sauce was good. My better half had the trout (I believe it's called Trout Audrey on the menu). It was very good; nice portion, good cream sauce and rich flavor.

Prices aren't too bad either; you can get in and out with a few drinks and tip for < $70. If you are looking to sit outside during the summer, after 7:00 PM is your best bet. Although they have plenty of fans to cool off patrons, nothing compares to a nice breeze across their porch. Also, there are two types of tables/chairs (high and regular) on the porch. If you put in your name to sit outside, be sure to specify which table you'd like for dining. That'll prevent calling your name to dine at a table that may not be to your liking. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wagz954422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rip's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rip's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing