We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, short wait, nice view.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rip's Seafood Restaurant

Rip's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 159 Restaurants in Mandeville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: South Louisiana Seafood cuisine
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, short wait, nice view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Have been here a couple of times and have had the same good experience on both occasions. We arrived after 6:45 PM each visit and had to wait for a table because we wanted to sit outside with the view (which is great during that time of the day, plus you get a considerable breeze). The wait was only 15 minutes so we bellied up to the bar and chatted; noise inside was not a factor.

On our most recent visit, our waitress was rather busy and it took longer than average to take our drink and dinner order. However, once we placed our order, the food was served in reasonable time. I had the grouper with a house salad; the fillet was small to average size, the cream sauce was good. My better half had the trout (I believe it's called Trout Audrey on the menu). It was very good; nice portion, good cream sauce and rich flavor.

Prices aren't too bad either; you can get in and out with a few drinks and tip for < $70. If you are looking to sit outside during the summer, after 7:00 PM is your best bet. Although they have plenty of fans to cool off patrons, nothing compares to a nice breeze across their porch. Also, there are two types of tables/chairs (high and regular) on the porch. If you put in your name to sit outside, be sure to specify which table you'd like for dining. That'll prevent calling your name to dine at a table that may not be to your liking. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wagz954422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    57
    24
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hammond, Louisiana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

It was our first time to dine here. We stood on the veranda for several minutes and weren't acknowledged nor did we see a sign requesting you wait to be seated, so we seated ourselves. The hostess showed up a few minutes later and we smiled and waved to her. She walked over with a scowl on her face and scolded us for not checking with her first!
The setting was beautiful but the food and service were not what we expected of this type of establishment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank sandybaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food is good, and reasonalbly priced. It is fun to take out-of-towners here for seafood, and if the weather permits, which is usually, sitting on the high porch overlooking Lake Pontchartrain is delightful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank empressofclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I dined at Rip's with another couple on Saturday evening. We did not have reservations, so we were sent to the overcrowded bar to wait for our table. Luckily, it was a relatively short wait. We were seated on the front porch with a great view of Lake Pontchartrain and the lightening storm that passed over the lake. Service was friendly and helpful, but very slow. There were about 15 tables on the porch with 6 or 7 different servers working the area. It seemed that servers were assigned tables inside the dinning room and outside on the porch. The servers seemed to be spread too thin to adequately take care of their tables. We were there almost 2 hours after we were seated. The onion rings were huge! The gumbo and the crab and brie bisque were wonderful!! We all enjoyed our entrees, as well, but were ready to leave long before we were finished.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans, LA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good casual dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went to Rips's on the lakefront with my family and in-laws on a Saturday. We sat inside but had a view out of the front window. Everything on the Lunch Menu looked good, so the choice was difficult to made. We made 5 different choices from, probably the 8 or 9 selections on the lunch specials and everyone was pleased. The salads were a nice size and good. The food was delivered fresh and hot. The eggplant medallions were a treat!The service was great and the atmosphere was enjoyable, even though we had a table in the bar area.

I would recommend Rip's to anyone (families, singles, couples).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tripgif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rip's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rip's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing