We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best seafood and view.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rip's Seafood Restaurant

Rip's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 159 Restaurants in Mandeville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: South Louisiana Seafood cuisine
Cleveland, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best seafood and view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

What a beautiful place. Wonderful seafood, excellent customer service and a view over the Lake - you can watch the sunset on their verandah. It was a bit hot and steamy in June out there but worth it! Only here a week and we have been twice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank julieandmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    56
    24
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Abita
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great view of lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Went with some friends who had been here long ago. They said how nice it is now since they rebuilt from hurricane Katrina. Very relaxing atmosphere, casual dinning some people were in dress slacks and coats while other like us were in shorts and polo shirts.
the food was very good too, order the fried crab claws big portion three of us ate off of it.
The pecan snapper was excellent, nice big filet and the pecans really enhanced the flavor of the fish.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobbydem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tylertown, Mississippi
Level Contributor
121 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice place and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stopped by father's day for lunch, brunch or what ever you might call it and as usual it was good. Being father's day it was extremely crowded and apparently you needed a reservation but they were very accommodating and since there was only two of us they found us a place, maybe not the best but a place. The food was great. We had the trout covered with jumbo shrimp, lump crab meat, and hollandaise sauce. It came with a house salad and it was all prepared perfectly though a little pricey at $24.99. The service was impeccable and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal except for the extreme crowded conditions. It looked like they had added additional tables to take advantage of the holiday and there was barely room for the servers to get around which did result in some accidental spills but none got on us. There are quiet a few stairs to get to the second level eating area but there is an elevator if required. I guess the on con I have about Rip's is they don't serve sweet tea. They have dining available on the front porch with a good view of Lake Ponchatrain but it was a bit hot out side for my tasted and like I said you probably had to have a reservation for this particular holiday. If you are in Mandeville this is definitely one of the places you should try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yelir49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch for 4”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

It was a beautiful day so we dined outdoors. The food was, as usual very good. Our server was ok. My only wish is that they offer sweetened tea.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ralph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
192 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Always tastes better after a bike ride!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Can't recommend the Crab Brie soup enough. I wish I had gotten the bowl not the cup. Excellent place for the traditional fried seafood platters. They never over use the oil! If you have room try the Fried Green tomatoes as an appetizer. We shared a special Pan Grilled Mahi with shrimp. Plenty of outside seating to take advantage of the weather and the great view of the lake.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nsenn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rip's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rip's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing