We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bear's Grill and Spirits - CLOSED

Bear's Grill and Spirits
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in today for a burger. Had the Suga Burger and my friend had the New Orleans Burger. Both were cooked to perfection, moist and good. Service was great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Redoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
madisonville
Level Contributor
155 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not the best....CLOSED NOW”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Was there couple times last year...sandwiches okay...for the rest, I would pick anothr place...Tried to go back for a sandwich early Feb 2013, the Mandeville location is CLOSED....not sure if Covington location still open or not.....

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank madisonvillebabydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
94 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best Po-Boys to be Found!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Granted, I always get the roast beef, but I've tasted the oyster and shrimp po-boys that my wife has had and they're terrific also.
I really, REALLY dislike sports bars, so it's not a place I like to eat-in, but I often pick up food to-go. I can't say that I care for their new location, because it's very much out of my way (the previous location was very convenient for me, as was the original location which was a portable building in the parking lot of a hardware store!)
But I digress. We actually dined-in at Bear's last month (on a slow day with no sports events to spoil our meal) and while my sandwich was perfect as usual, my wife's fried oyster po-boy was incredibly salty. We mentioned it to the server, and the manager immediately came to the table and apologized; he removed the charge from our bill without any hesitation or even a request for it. It was quite the exception that the food was not up to par, so it will not in the least affect our future dining there.
Bottom line: the food is excellent and they stand behind the quality. The prices seem a little steep, but the large po-boys are rather gargantuan.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sniip3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Roast Beef Po-Boy Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I always hit this hotspot when I come to Covington/Mandeville area. Best, messiest roast beef po-boy ever!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelprosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad service every time we go there”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Food was ok. Bread was stale the last time we went. Service is bad again. Took server over 20 minutes just to get a menu, then another 10 for drinks. We were there for almost an hour before we even got to order our food. The worse part is it was not crowded.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenhooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear's Grill and Spirits also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing