We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“if you want Cajun music this is it,,, bucket list item” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freds Lounge

Freds Lounge
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Mamou
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Catch a little Cajun fever at Fred’s, where the Cajun joie de vivre is evident and infectious.
Maine
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“if you want Cajun music this is it,,, bucket list item”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

On main st Big Mamou sits a time capsule that everyone must visit once. This time took the family with my daughters from Maine, and we had a blast. Its like the Star Wars Bar, there were locals, Texas bikers, cajuns, cowboys, seniors, college students and quite a few foreigners. All enjoying the band,,, get there early for a good seat, start drinking and have fun,,,

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank bigcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    4
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marana, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Saturday morning....!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Our friend Debbie in Alexandria said, "Don't schedule ANYTHING for Saturday morning!". We didn't and found ourselves at Fred's Lounge in li'l ol' Mamou, LA. Got a seat at the bar and met Tante Sue. From that point on we were on a Cajun E-ticket ride! Her holster and the bar got us feelin' good, the foot didn't stop tappin', the dancin' was as jiggy as it should be when the band lays down a catchy cajun rhythm, and everyone was a friend. Get your bucket list out and add one more...You cannot die until you've spent a Saturday mornin' at Fred's Lounge.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Timetraveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Just read everyone else's reviews and then go! This is the real deal. The party starts early make sure to buy a drink and tip the band they don't charge a penny for this experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Darwinism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L4r4k3
Level Contributor
144 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Heard about this place while we were at the RV park. Could have stayed for the whole four hours without any problem. The music is fabulous and the environment is like walking back in time. Unfortunately Tante Sue was not there as she had recently broken her hip but we sure heard lots of stories from the regular patrons. This is a must stop when in the area. Be there by 8:30 in the morning in time for the Radio show that goes from 9-1:30 pretty much non stop!! Enjoy a beer or whatever you like--Yes in the morning!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricarda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I have been to LA many times and never got the chance to go to Freds Lounge. Now I will never miss an opportunity to go. This place is great, nice people, great bloody marys.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freds Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Freds Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing