We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Very nice State Park

Very nice state pack tucked away by the Tchefuncte River in Madisonville, LA. All camping sites in... read more

Reviewed February 12, 2020
D4051HCjoanr
,
Livingston, Texas
Very nice clean State Park

Very nice and well maintained Park. I will say it is very tight maneuvering through the park and... read more

Reviewed January 7, 2020
leedN5505HZ
Read all 54 reviews
  
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
30
19
4
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
30
19
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews would definitely stay here again trees rig swamp fishing paved playground bayou
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 54 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2015

river, reflection lake, otis house, kids play area, peacocks.. this park is a treasure and if you miss this park, you miss something great. Watch out for muddy puddles ;-) if it rained.

Date of experience: January 2015
1  Thank sarunmphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2014

We spent 3 very cold nights in November visiting friends in nearby Mandeville. Park was well off the busy road in a very scenic area (people come to have professional photos taken by the water and 100 year old live oak trees with moss hanging everywhere). In fact we are headed back there this weekend on our trip back from Fla. Look forward to it being a little warmer. Sites in the back area don't have sewer, but that's where it is gorgeous. Dump station right there on your way out.

Date of experience: November 2014
2  Thank BaliestesBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful park and easy to get to from interstate. Anyone looking for a campground who is passing through, I would highly recommend here. Park is full of live oak trees that are hundreds of years old and draped in Spanish moss. There is a pier and fish cleaning station and not far from that is a little boardwalk through some swamp. It's not too long and it's very pretty and quiet. I use the area for photos sometimes. It is right on a river too. People do swim in river at various locations. Not sure if poss from the park but I have seen the gators so I do not get in the water period!

Date of experience: April 2014
1  Thank nolaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Our elementary school spends 3 days here (1 for each grade level) at the end of school. The pavilion area has just the right amount of sun and large trees for shade for them to have a great day without getting sunburn!! And it was a very safe section of the park for our kids to play in. We will definately come back again.

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank 66cathyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Lots of Live Oaks, dripping with moss; an antebellum house; pretty riverfront (watch out for the Water Moccasins!); beautiful spacious campsites. Great location.

Date of experience: January 2014
2  Thank JeffnTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews