We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wellington Arms
Swallowfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always Great Food”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Very nice food, good service and comfortable surroundings. In some areas the decor needs some improving. A good choice of real ales. Try the burger, it is awesome. A great place for an evening meal at sensible prices. Will be back soon.......

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    98
    45
    16
    18
See reviews for
51
95
4
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The hotel was great! Friendly staff with a friendly welcome.
My room was clean, light and airy and the bathroom was spotless.
My room was at the back of the hotel, and I couldn't hear the A-road at the front, nor other guests.
Would definitely stay again / recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
248 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here on a busy Saturday night. There was a function in the hotel suite, so lots of people about, but in our room at the back of the hotel we could not hear a thing. We slept with the window open all night and did not get disturbed by traffic noise from the A road running past the front of the hotel. We had been a little worried about the location on a busy road but we need not have been. Very comfortable bed, quite spacious room, good size bathroom. Excellent breakfast buffet. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The staff at reception bar and restaurant were brilliant however the room (26) let them down. On possibly the hottest day of the year so far I walked into the bathroom which was like a sauna because the radiator was on full however no taps on the valves to turn them off so I went to reception to ask for a tap or adjustable spanner and was told they didn't have any. Fortunately a colleague had a small adjustable spanner in his van which I borrowed to turn the radiator off. Reception suggested leaving the bedroom window wide open whilst having dinner however being on the ground floor I declined that option as my lap top was in the room!! Food was great, drinks a bit expensive (£4.75 for a pint of Peroni) however generally satisfied with the restaurant. Upon retiring to bed it was obvious the bed was worn as you automatically roll into the middle and the next morning noticing black mould in the shower was rather annoying. Had breakfast which was OK however a bit tight with the toast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irisbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed for a night on business and I have to say I wish all the hotels I
use were to this standard. Every member of staff I came into contact with,
at reception, at the bar and at breakfast all gave the impression they
wanted to be there and nothing was too much trouble.
I had the fish and chips in beer batter and I must say they
were the best I have had for some considerable time and the bar
prices were a pleasant surprise.
Even the coffee and biscuits in the room were of a higher standard
and there were two bottle of water thrown in.
Rooms clean and tidy with good quality linen.
I only problem I have is that I now need to work out how to do more
business in the area so I can return soon!
Well done all and thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordNoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Hi stayed one night, staff were charming we booked an evening meal which simply did not meet our expectations or represent good value for money.

We have been offered some vouchers as compensation, draw your own conclusion.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Yet another fab stay here. The No.1 choice, the only choice in the area. Character, an excellent welcome from Suzie, fabulous food. (I already forgive you for not having treacle tart on the menu because I was told next time just let us know you are coming and we will make one for you, Great customer service!)

The bedrooms in the main building have been refurbished. What a lovely job. We had a large room, antique furniture, and a gorgeous bathroom.

The breakfast is still as good as ever. Cooked to order with excellent quality ingredients. The best breakfast we have had anywhere, really.

We wouldn't go anywhere else as we love the ambience, service and food. The refurb has put the icing on the cake.

We look forward to seeing you very soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratfield Turgis
3.2 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,322 reviews
1.5 mi away
Highfield Park
Highfield Park
#1 of 1 in Heckfield
372 reviews
4.4 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
4.2 mi away
Raven Hotel
Raven Hotel
#5 of 7 in Hook
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Arms

Property: The Wellington Arms
Address: A35, Stratfield Turgis RG27 0AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stratfield Turgis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stratfield Turgis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wellington Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Wellington Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellington Arms Hotel Basingstoke
Wellington Arms Basingstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing