We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wellington Arms
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Overall a good venue I think.

The Sunday lunch was of a good quality, even if the beef was a little too pink in places for me. The veg was reasonable and the potatoes also reasonable.

I have had better but pretty good!

We went at half 1 and it wasn't very busy at all, maybe too warm a day for people to want to go for a roast?

Service was pleasant and our meal came out within 10 minutes.

Only thing lacking was staff didn't come back to see if we wanted more drinks or anything after meal was finished apart from when they took our plates.

The setting was very nice and the restaurant had a lovely atmosphere.

Sunday lunch was £12.50 which is pricier than a lot of places but it's somewhere you go if you want something a bit more special.

Overall a very pleasant lunch was had.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    98
    45
    16
    18
See reviews for
51
95
4
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Booked this as a one night stop as was seeing a show in Oxford and partner works in Basingstoke. Was totally amazed at the room (14), it was fabulous. Huge 4 poster bed and very nice bathroom. Bar staff were nice. Breakfast was a little slow and food not overly hot. Overall for the price this was a great hotel and my partner and I would have no hesitation in staying again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Chosen as a halfway meet for dinner with a friend, booked on line, but they were not expecting us! and the restaurant was full, they did manage to squeeze us in, but it was not a great start to the evening. Beware of bookings made via Toptable, they seem to take a lower priority, that those phoned through.

We had a pleasant evening although there were several parties in that night so it was not very quiet and difficult to hear each other at some points. The staff were very efficient and polite, but I feel the food quality was average, my veal was rather tougher than it should have been and at £16 a little over priced. I would probably give them another try at some point, not a bad experience but not memorable either!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanRG127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
360 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Spent a few hours over multiple coffees and then lunch here with a work colleague. Staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, though not all brilliant english speakers (we got tea instead of coffee on first time of asking), but their smiles made up for it. Very nice beetroot and goats cheese open sandwich with avocado and curried chicken also tasty. Lovely smell of candles and burning wood in the large bar on a miserable Feb day increased the ambiance. Only quibble is wifi is highly intermittent, at least downstairs. All in all a very pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights whilst in the area on business. Check in and check out were both easy and all members of staff I dealt with were lovely.
There are a real mix of styles here. The lounge/restaurant/bar area is wonderful, candles, sofas, fires all make it comfortable and cosy on a miserable winters day. The food was divine (I had Duck one night and a bunless burger the 2nd night) and the wine was good too. There is a really nice atmosphere in the bar area and the staff were great too.
Breakfast is good - pastries, juice, fruit, cereal and then you can order hot food off the menu. I had a full English one morning which was ok but wasn't hot which was a little disappointing - nothing to make a complaint about though.
The thing that I would say needs improvement are the rooms. They are a good size, the bed is comfy and clean as are the bath towels but...... they are really dated. The carpet needs changing as you can see it is worn and stained and the bathroom (in my room anyway) needed a complete overhaul.
Overall this is a really great hotel and I would happily come back here to stay again but if they really want to make it even better then some work on the rooms would be good!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Arrived on Friday (10/01/2014) into a warm reception area with the smell of a real log fire. The reception was good with the girls making us feel very welcome and assuring us that they were here to help. Allocated room on the ground floor which was not suitable as the window could not be locked while ajar. went back to reception who reallocated us to room 37 on the first floor at the rear of the hotel. This room was slightly larger, had been less used and was very nicely furnished. A couple of stains on the carpet and two of the pillows need replacing. We had dinner in the hotel. Good real ale and food at average prices. Great attention by the restaurant staff. Great nights sleep and shower in the morning. No shortage of hot water or water pressure. Breakfast was really good. Juices, cold meats, cereals, fruit, yoghurt and lovely honeycomb honey. The cooked breakfast was really good. On the next two nights we visited relations so just had B&B. Wedding on site on the Saturday night did not disturb us at all. Overall I would fully recommend this hotel. Great staff, location, room and restaurant. Well done.

Room Tip: Go for an upgraded room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

There were 14 of us for dinner, and the restaurant managed to accommodate us at short notice. The food was very good - hot and tasty but I felt the portion sizes were on the small side. The real credit to this place was the staff who were extremely polite and efficient. Would go back again.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hollysaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratfield Turgis
1.5 mi away
Highfield Park
Highfield Park
#1 of 1 in Heckfield
350 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
3.2 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Raven Hotel
Raven Hotel
#4 of 6 in Hook
461 reviews
3.6 mi away
De Vere Wokefield Estate
De Vere Wokefield Estate
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Mortimer
1,882 reviews
4.4 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Arms

Property: The Wellington Arms
Address: A35, Stratfield Turgis RG27 0AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stratfield Turgis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stratfield Turgis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wellington Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Wellington Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellington Arms Hotel Basingstoke
Wellington Arms Basingstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing