We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wellington Arms
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed at a nice old style hotel with friendly staff and comfortable rooms. No banging at silly o"clock and food good although a bit pricey. Great location on A33 outside basingstoke but not too far.Within easy reach of Reading and the M4 and the M3 . In the country but only just with a petrol station a few miles toward Basingstoke and also large shopping centre out of town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HGVRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 260 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

I joined some friends for a Reunion Dinner here and was frankly very disappointed with meal that was served up, I prefer my meal to be served on hot plate rather than a dish or platter. I appreciate that this is some sort of trendy way of doing things but its not for me. Would have accepted it if the food had been above average but it was not! The menu was frankly somewhat limited. It was in my opinion rather expensive at £40.00 per head for two courses a bottle wine and a few drinks

The general ambiance was however rather good with its Christmas theme. Not a place I will rush back to

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Oldbags186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have just celebrated a special birthday at The Wellington. My friends and family all stayed in the hotel overnight. Firstly, the Wellington offered an excellent venue for my party, the service was excellent and The Hampshire Suite a perfect setting.
Some of my family had travelled a long way for the event and commented upon the delicious food that they ordered at the bar.
We were also delighted at what good value it was to stay in the hotel . The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very good.
The hotel looked particularly pretty with the lovely Christmas decorations and roaring log fires.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjb04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Am currently staying here at the Wellington Arms, and I can honestl say the staff could not have been more pleasant. A real pleasure. My pint never gets past two fingers left and I'm asked if I'd like another one. Breakfast is bob on. The dinners are awesome and the pub itself is really nicely done out.

The rooms are ok, I had a single room, which was of single size, but it was clean with a tv, good shower etc, everything you really need.

All in all, thanks for a nice stay to everyone working here, nice one.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwaindibley6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband took me here with my daughter 1 year old for my birthday. Food was reasonably priced and good pub food. It also catered for children with great dishes such as fish and chips homemade. Everything is beautifully presented on wooden boards. We will definately go again on our own so we can enjoy the food in peace! Looks impressive from the outside and lives up to expectation on the inside without being stuffy.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank katy_holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

we know Hall Woodhouse they are good.this Hotel is up another slot.for £50 a night per couple you wont beat it.the evening dinner was £69 for 2.the food was excellant qualltiy.in between Reading and Basingstoke perfect stop over.every thing about it was good.includes a full breakfast.miss it at your peril.

Room Tip: book on line
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a lovely lunch at this country pub near Basingstoke. The service was friendly and the food was beautifully presented. Worth a visit for lunch or dinner. It's very small so I would get a reservation so as not to be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jodilovesamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratfield Turgis
3.2 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,497 reviews
1.5 mi away
Highfield Park
Highfield Park
#1 of 1 in Heckfield
400 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Arms

Address: A35, Stratfield Turgis RG27 0AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stratfield Turgis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stratfield Turgis
Price Range: $110 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wellington Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Wellington Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellington Arms Hotel Basingstoke
Wellington Arms Basingstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing