We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than first impression suggested”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nately Scures
London, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Better than first impression suggested”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed one night and on arrival did not realise the main building is quite close to the main road. It is set back somewhat though and has plenty of parking at the front. Not a country setting as such though more like a US style roadside travel inn.

Check in was quick and easy and our room was quite large with separate bathroom. Room was very quiet near back of hotel and perfect for us. Had safe in room which is nice touch and free wifi. Had a walk around and pool looked great and quite large. The road out front is busy though but went for a little stroll and directly across from hotel are public footpaths and about 5 minutes away is a little cricket ground, an Indian restaurant and a pub which looked fine although we ate in hotel.

Food was a pleasant surprise. The dinner was included but allowed you to select other options for a supplement which worked well. Wine was fine and thoroughly enjoyed our meal which was to a good standard and included roast belly pork and shoulder of lamb. Breakfast next morning was very busy but we managed to get seated and food was regularly topped up. Not as good quality as the evening meal but lots of choice and ok.

All staff were very pleasant and hard working and this place was very busy with large groups as well as lots of couples etc. The offer I booked under given what we experienced was excellent value and I came away impressed overall.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dugongs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your review and nice to see that we were able to surprise you with what lies beyond the exterior, particularly with your positive description of the food and of the service that you received from the team.

Lovely to hear that you felt the individual treatment on such a busy night.

We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    291
    213
    162
    202
See reviews for
176
450
35
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I have stayed in lots of different places for work. I spent a month in this hotel and all I can say is simply it was great. Clean with good facilities. The thing that makes this hotel different to others I have stayed in is the staff. Food was good, facilities are good, and rooms are good all very clean. However facility are facility and are the same as most hotels however the staff at this hotel are fabulous they are welcoming and work hard to make sure your stay is the best it can be. Staying away can be lonely when its week after week however the staff make a real effort to look after their guesses and take an interested is their lives which I think is key to good customer services. 5 star for service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We're so glad that you felt at home with us for your extended stay. What you experienced from the team was genuine and it is so rewarding for them to read when it is recognised.

Thank you for your review and we hope you will return either on business or pleasure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Excellent short break. Staff so helpful and help one of the quest who is disabled access all areas of the hotel. Food was first class and wow what a breakfast. This was my third visit and will be returning soon Well done to all the Hotel team

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank woodleaSurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
How fantastic to read your rating of the team, they were delighted to see that you felt that they were excellent and the kitchen were equally pleased to see your comments about food generally and breakfast particularly.

Here's to your fourth visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for two nights over a weekend just for a relaxing break. The hotel is easy to get to from the motorway and in a quiet location which is what we wanted. Its not within walking distance of a town so not ideal if you do want to go wandering. We had a slight problem when they couldn't find our booking prior to us arriving but this was quickly solved and they even upgraded us to a suite which was fantastic!

The staff at this hotel were the friendliest I've ever experienced! Actually genuinely seemed interested in you and making your stay enjoyable; all very happy and welcoming. Massive gold star for them!

We had a package including dinner & wine on first night, afternoon tea and pamper treatment. The dinner was very nice. You get a slimmed down menu but can pay supplements for other dishes which I think is great so you have more choice. Portions were small but we left feeling satisfied and not too full which is actually quite nice. The afternoon tea was a bit disappointing. Didn't seem very fresh and everything had cream in it which is not to my personal taste.

The treatments were very nice and the spa area is lovely. The pool was pretty much completely empty when we were in it which was fantastic to have it all to ourselves! The hot tub is outside which is a little fresh when you have to run to it in your bathers but better to have one outside then not at all!

There are two restaurants within 5min walk. We went to the bistro/pub one on our second night but hadn't realised how tiny inside it was so couldn't get a table as we hadn't pre-booked. There is no real bar area either. We ended up across the road in the indian restaurant. We were a bit unsure but it was actually really nice food and the staff were very friendly.

All in all the hotel was perfect for what we needed and the money we paid. Its nothing too fancy or modern, more homely and comfortable, but this is a good thing. All very clean and well kept. Would definitely stay here again if looking for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your response and am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that we were able to resolve the hiccup with your reservation and it's great that you felt that your spa break was good value.

We look forward to your return, when you can enjoy an improved afternoon tea!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my 10 year old granddaughter ( visiting LEGOLAND) as a frequent user of Puma hotels was expecting normal standard. Firstly good points-- room was fine--pool etc was OK ( as usual something out of order -- steam room -- but have yet to visit any puma hotel where they are all working !!) and breakfast was good.
But this is primarily a wedding venue and when a wedding is on -- three things:-
The bar/lounge area isn't big enough
There is always a too loud /too late disco
The large wedding group get "priority"
Fine for business -- but not so good for us other "mere" guests !! So families beware !!
Also whereas other Puma hotels have good restuarants with a la carte dining and a good selection, Basingstoke has a Brasserie with very limited choice and nothing for children( unless you have a 10 year old "fine diner?") - disappointing as on a special "free" dinner break . The menu was same both nights -- so even less choice--all in all food very poor-- we ended up having a simple marghuerita pizza and fries -- but at an additional and expensive cost !
All in all a big disappointment -- unlike legoland which was great !!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willowfield8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us to visit Legoland and for taking the time to review your stay.

There were an unusually large number of wedding guests who not only attending the wedding at this hotel but also at other venues and I understand how you may have felt that they took precedence due to the numbers of people taking over areas of the bar or restaurant at particular times.

Hopefully you will return on a less unusual weekend to experience the best that Basingstoke Country Hotel has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Excellent location, facilities and friendly staff. A few minor general maintenance issues however nothing to warrant missing out on this lovely hotel. Will definitely stay again in the future and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank H0neybee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your positive review and recommendation.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Tiny room, no kettle asked for one to be brought but never came . Table in restaurant booked for 8pm when we arrived were told there might be a problem and we should go to the bar but chose not to. Starters eventually came an hour and a half after we sat down, no sparkling wine as per our offer, main course eventually arrived at 10pm. Decided against dessert because we couldn't be bothered to wait, completely spoilt the evening. Certainly wouldn't recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anon0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and I am sorry that it was not a good one. I am aware that there a significant challenge early this last Sunday evening in the restaurant caused delay to service. Hopefully you will be pleased to read that this has been addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nately Scures hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nately Scures
3.9 mi away
The Basingstoke Hotel
The Basingstoke Hotel
#11 of 13 in Basingstoke
1,125 reviews
5.2 mi away
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
#9 of 13 in Basingstoke
806 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#3 of 13 in Basingstoke
727 reviews
9.7 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,107 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
#7 of 13 in Basingstoke
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa

Property: Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
Address: Scures Hill, Nately Scures, Basingstoke RG27 9JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke > Nately Scures
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nately Scures
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Basingstoke Country Hotel is surrounded by mature woodland and provides a serene, relaxing setting for any holiday or special occasion. Just off the M3 yet surrounded by thatched cottage villages, it has 100 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms and 9 deluxe room. It is an ideal base for exploring the cathedral cities of Winchester, Salisbury and Chichester and the unspoilt beauty and wild ponies of the New Forest. With attractive landscaped courtyards, Health & Leisure Club with indoor swimming pool, and Scures Brasserie restaurant serving local food, it's a great spot for relaxing after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Basingstoke
Basingstoke Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing